Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Airbase [indoor air quality]
The bibliographic database of the Air Infiltration and Ventilation Centre, AIRBASE contains abstracts of articles and publications related to energy efficient ventilation. "Topics include: ventilation strategies, design and retrofit methods, calculation techniques, standards and regulations, measurement methods, indoor air quality and energy implications." Updated quarterly. Covers 1979-present.
SafetyLit "provides abstracts of English language reports from researchers in several disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Click the link to the SafetyLit Archives Search page. This site is provided by the Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice at the San Diego State University and by the World Health Organization
ASTIS (Arctic Science and Technology Information System)
ASTIS contains citations and abstracts to literature on the arctic regions of northern Canada and Alaska. Produced by the Arctic Institute of North America (University of Calgary).
This is a database containing academic publications which result from periods of research sponsored by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. Coverage is from the year 2000 onwards. Searchable by keywords. Results are arranged by author. Research may be in the humanities, natural sciences, or engineering. Be sure to click the Biblographia Humboldtiana to search by key words.
"An electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. The goal of the Archive is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work." Also includes papers in the history of science. A service of the University of Pittsburgh.
"ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced 'federated search technology' to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results."
Includes the content of the Energy Citations Database and the OSTI Information Bridge. "The Energy Citations Database (ECD) is designed and developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). ... Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates. Energy Citations includes bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents." Energy Citations now includes many links to full-text documents. The OSTI Information Bridge gathers information from multiple agencies into one search.
The Scott Polar Research Institute of Cambridge University maintains this bibliographic database of records, listing books, journal articles, videos, films, and other works published from 1602 through to the current century. Each entry includes a brief annotation describing the nature of the material.
See also specific disciplines, e.g., Biology
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
Indexes critical and historical articles and books on science fiction and fantasy. The database is compiled by Hal W. Hall and hosted by the Cushing Library at Texas A & M University.
* Popline *
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, dissertations, and other material pertaining to population and reproductive health, including topics such as HIV, female genital mutilation, etc. To see the abstracts of articles in the result list, choose "Long Article Display" from the menu at the bottom of the page. Maintained by the Johns Hopkins Center for Communications Programs. An alternate form of access
, which has an option to search documents in POPLINE and may connect to full text for some items. Be sure to check off "Documents (POPLINE)" before searching.
SexBiblio Bibliography of the History of Western Sexuality
The non-belletristic primary and secondary literature of the history of sexuality in Europe, the U.S. and Canada from 1700 to 2008. Beyond this it contains important titles of antique sexual history, of the history of sexuality of the middle ages and contemporary times, also including titles for non-Western societies." The database is the work of Franz X. Eder, a professor in the Department of Economic and Social History at the University of Vienna, where the site is hosted.
Rutgers Kenniscentrum Seksualiteit Catalogue [sexuality]
Includes documents (monographs, reports, conference proceedings, periodicals, articles, papers, brochures, etc.) relating to the study of the biological, psychological, sociological, and commercial aspects of sex. To search, scroll down the page to the search form marked, "Zoeken," change the language to English by clicking the small UK flag icon. In the search results, click on the title of an article to see the full information, including an abstract.
ICSPR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research produces this searchable database that contains citations of works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive. Contains citations to articles, presentations, reports, books, chapters, and dissertations.
NLS Annotated Bibliography
The NLS Annotated Bibliography indexes and abstracts thousands of periodical articles, conference papers, chapters, books, and dissertations based on data from the National Longitudinal Surveys. "The National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women." Studies using the social, economic, and demographic data cover a wide spectrum. The NLS is a product of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
"The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID), begun in 1968, is a longitudinal study of a representative sample of U.S. individuals (men, women, and children) and the family units in which they reside. It emphasizes the dynamic aspects of economic and demographic behavior, but its content is broad, including sociological and psychological measures. ... The study is conducted at the Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan" The PSID/CDS Bibliography provides citations of works that use PSID and CDS (Child Development Supplement) data. Searchable and browsable by key words. Produced by the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
Social Care Online
Produced by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE), a government-supported effort in the UK. This large database contains records of books, government reports, research papers, and publications of voluntary organisations, and articles from a wide range of journals and other periodicals. Search by keyword. Clicking on the title in the result list brings up the abstract and complete record.
PTSDpubs database [post-traumatic stress] (Formerly PILOTS)
PTSDpubs database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) It is produced by the National Center for PTSD Click the Search the PTSDsub database to begin. The basic search screen is straightforward, or click "Advanced" for a form to combine terms.. The first few lines of the abstract appear on the results list. Click on the title of the article to see the full abstract.
Substance Abuse & Addiction
An index to books, journal articles, chapters, and reprints relating to alcohoism and drug abuse. Produced by the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute, University of Washington.
Alcohol Studies Database
This database, which is maintained by the Center for Alcohol Studies at Rutgers University, contains more than 80,000 citations to journal articles, books, chapters, and theses on alcoholism. Searchable by author, key word, date, and by pick lists of drug terms, physiological aspects, and social aspects. Searches may be limited by special populations, e.g., college students.
Lindesmith Library Catalog
Indexes articles, books, chapters, reports, and videos on the subject of "illegal drugs and their use and abuse, plus drug policy and drug history." Most records have citation only; there are some full text drug policy documents, however. A service of Lindesmith Library (Open Society Institute) and the Drug Policy Alliance.
MAPS Psychedelic Bibliography
A "...collection of literature references concerning over 60 years of research on psychedelic compounds. This research covers their effects, their use in the fields of psychedelic and psycholytic therapy, synthesis, analytical methods, human and animal toxicology, biochemistry, chemistry, clinical studies, in vitro studies, legal history, metabolism, neurochemistry, pharmacology, studies with the dying, and more." Provides abstracts and some full-text articles, including a frequently-updated collection of articles on MDMA (ecstasy). Published by MAPS (Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies).
MDMA References Database
Abstracts and full text of articles relating to methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA, ecstasy) from its discovery to the present. Searchable by author or title keywords. Produced by Erowid, "a member-supported organization providing access to reliable, non-judgmental information about psychoactive plants and chemicals and related issues." Not current
UKCIA Library [marijuana]
An archives of articles relating to cannabis; including journal articles, white papers, and other documents on marijuana.
* TOXLINE *
TOXLINE articles have been integrated into PubMed in a Toxicology Subset. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, dissertations, and other material pertaining to toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.. Other specialized toxicological databases such as DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center) and GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology-Mutagenicity) are available from this interface. A National Library of Medicine database.
BCERF (Breast Cancer & Environmental Risk Factors)
Produced by the Program on Breast Cancer and Environmental Risk Factors at the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine.
FDA Poisonous Plant Database
An index of approximately 97,000 references in scientific sources dealing with toxic plants. Maintained by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
NUtranlit covers "...transportation and police journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more," and is produced by Northwestern University Library.
* TRID *
Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide." TRB is the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies. Includes selected documents in full text.