Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HUD USER Bibliographic Database
"The HUD USER Bibliographic Database contains more than 10,000 full-abstract citations to research reports, articles, books, monographs, and data sources in housing policy, building technology, economic development, urban planning, and a host of other relevant fields." Produced by the U.S. Dept. of Housing & Urban Development. Not current
* MEDLINE *
The world's largest database of medicine-related abstracts. Includes online MESH subject headings. Tip: When combining terms or searches, use capital letters for AND, OR, NOT. Refer to help files for complete instructions. Now includes links to some free full-text articles through PubMed Central, which includes free full-text articles. A service of the National Library of Medicine.
* Agricola *
U.S. national bibliographic database for agriculture, including forestry, from the National Agriculture Library. Includes two different searches: one for books, theses, etc., and one for abstracts of journal articles. Choose either a subject search from among NAL topics, or a keyword search, which also allows limiting by date and language. Combined searching of books and periodicals is available.
International bibliographic database for agriculture, including forestry and viticulture. Maintained by the FAO (the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations). May contain links to full text.
International Wine Research Database
A comprehensive database of wine-related publications.
* EAUDOC *
EAUDOC is a service of the International Office of Water, a nonprofit organization that brings together public and private partners involved in water resources management and protection. The database interface is in French, but is easy to use and has many English language articles. Search in the space provided and click Envoyer.. The results are sorted by relevance, but the sort can be changed to date or title. Click the title to see an abstract of the item.
Middle East Water Collection
Water in the Middle East (formerly the IES Water Database Bibliography), containing approximately 10,000 entries encompassing such topics as hydrology, geography, science and technology, economics, population, politics, law, management, and strategic affairs. The user can choose topics and water basins from a list on the search page. Part of the Oregon Digital Library
African Women's Bibliographic Database
Indexes books, chapters, government documents, periodical articles, theses, and conference papers dealing with women in Africa from 1986 to the present. The over 40,000 items are chiefly in English. Produced and maintained by Davis Bullwinkle at the Research Library of the Institute for Economic Advancement.
Diotima Bibliography [women in ancient times]
The searchable bibliography is part of Diotima: Materials for study of women and gender in the ancient world. "Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean . . . " Use the browsing list or go to the search at the bottom of the page.
Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender Index
"Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages." Feminae is a cooperative project of several librarians and scholars." Be patient; the search can be somewhat slow.
Gender & Geography Bibliography
Click the search button in the top navigation toolbar to search. The bibliography is also browsable by author.
An index to gender studies and women's studies materials appreaing chiefly in monographs and exceptionally in journals. Many entries have an abstract consisting of a quoted description of the content. Produced by the Englisches Seminar at the University of Köln.
Database of material in women's studies. Can limit by material type, language, year. The database is produced by the Women's History Collections Department at Gothenburg University Library. For the English-language interface, click In English at the top of the page.
ViVa [women's and gender history]
ViVa stands for the Dutch "Vrouwengeschiedenis in het Vaktijdschrift," or, "Women's History in Professional Journals." ViVa is a current bibliography of articles about women's and gender history. Articles published in English, French, German, Dutch, Danish, Norwegian, and Swedish are selected from 160 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals." The publisher is the International Institute of Social History.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
The Women In Politics database is produced by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and covers books and articles on women's participation in political life. It is searchable by country, organization, subject, author, periodical title, date, language, or free text. The database is international in scope.
"... an inventory of publications in writing studies, including post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse analysis" ComPile also includes journal articles, essays appearing in edited books, theses, and other documents. CompPile is the project of Rich Haswell and Glenn Blalock. The site is hosted by Texas A & M Corpus Christi. A glossary of search terms is available.