Databases on the Web: Subjects A-B

Indexes a large number of articles, books, and chapters relating to Africa. Some articles have abstracts. Produced by the African Studies Centre, Leiden University.

Indexes books, chapters, government documents, periodical articles, theses, and conference papers dealing with women in Africa from 1986 to the present. The over 40,000 items are chiefly in English. Produced and maintained by Davis Bullwinkle at the Research Library of the Institute for Economic Advancement.

Bibliographic database of African research. Abstracts are included when available. Begun by INASP (International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications), AJOL is now managed by the National Inquiry Services Centre (NISC SA).

Africana Periodical Literature Database indexes over 100,000 articles relating to Africa in "over 280 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent," dating from the 19th century to the present. A clickable map and list of regions let the researcher compile a regional bibliography, or a search form is available. Output can be sorted, and can be limited by date, periodical title, or geographic region. Produced and maintained by Davis Bullwinkle at the Research Library of the Institute for Economic Advancement. A small number of citations link to full text.

GerOLit (GEROntological LITerature) covers literature on social and medical aspects of aging. Index only. GEROLIT is produced by the German Centre of Gerontology

U.S. national bibliographic database for agriculture, including forestry, from the National Agriculture Library. Includes two different searches: one for books, theses, etc., and one for abstracts of journal articles. Choose either a subject search from among NAL topics, or a keyword search, which also allows limiting by date and language. Combined searching of books and periodicals is available.

The Agricultural Communications Documentation Center, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, produces this database, which contains records of books, chapters, journal articles, magazine articles, and reports on communications in agriculture

Agricultural and applied economics scholarly literature. Indexes and abstracts both journal articles and other documents. Includes full text documents.

International bibliographic database for agriculture, including forestry and viticulture. Maintained by the FAO (the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations). May contain links to full text.

Includes abstracts of "published or soon-to-be-published articles -- of recent research results from the Agricultural Research Service (ARS), the U.S. Department of Agriculture's chief scientific research agency." New summaries continuously added. Search or Browse by Subjects. Formerly TEKTRAN.

A comprehensive database of wine-related publications.

Organic Eprints is an international open access archive for papers and projects related to research in organic food and farming. The archive contains full-text papers in electronic form together with bibliographic information, abstracts and other metadata.

Large international database of articles relevant to viticulture and wine. Abstracts only.

An extensive bibliographic database on the international literature of algae. Includes some PDF full text.

"An osteopathic medicine digital library created by a partnership between Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) and VTLS, Inc. "

A bibliographic database of articles relating to the African elephant. Searchable by author, year, and keyword.

A comprehensive bibliography offered by the C.B. Wilson Copepod Library at the Smithsonian Institution

" A web-based information portal that provides access to NOAA coral reef information and data products with emphasis on the U.S. states, territories and remote island areas. " Results appear in a list. Click the title of an item for more information. Click Metadata Details to get information about articles. CoRIS includes both periodical articles and other types of data. Journal articles may be proprietary or open access.

Articles on African and Asian elephants. Not currently updated.

A cornucopia of fish information. To search for article citations, scroll down to the search form in the "References" section.

A large database of ant literature made available by the U.S. Agriculture Research Service. The most recent updates must be downloaded.

Indexes tens of thousands of articles on nearly 10,000 species of reptiles. Results show as a list of linked species names; years after species names are years first observed or named, not article dates. Each links to a page with a picture of the species a rough location map, and a list of references. The editor and curator in charge is Peter Uetz, an associate professor of biology at Virginia Commonwealth University.

A bibliographic database created by the Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research (ACCSTR) at the University of Florida. Indexes articles, theses, books, government reports and other material relating to sea turtles.

Current "scientific bibliography on recent and fossil sharks, skates, rays and chimaeras (cartilaginous fishes, Chondrichthyes)."

Covers publications from the 19th century to the present. Offered by the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History

Bibliografía Mesoamericana, published by the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, "provides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines." The focus is on México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, and El Salvador.

A searchable database of articles and other publications from the Museum of Northern Arizona

Publications on the archaeology of Great Britain and Ireland.Click title for abstract. A service of the Counsel for British Archaeology.

Bibliografía Mesoamericana, published by the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, "provides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines." The focus is on México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, and El Salvador.

Index of open access reports, articles, and books relating to the monuments, cultural landscapes, and heritage sites of most countries in the world. Produced by ICOMOS.

Nestor is an international bibliography of journal articles and books relating to Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. "The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, the southern coast of Bulgaria, the western and southern coasts of Turkey, and Cyprus. Its chronological range is the prehistoric period from the Palaeolithic through the end of the Geometric period." Published by the Department of Classics at the University of Cincinnati.

A searchable database of articles and other publications from the Museum of Northern Arizona

Index of open access reports, articles, and books relating to the monuments, cultural landscapes, and heritage sites of most countries in the world. Produced by ICOMOS.

Contains citations to works on Irish architecture. Produced by the Architecture and Planning Libraries of Queen's University Belfast and University College Dublin.

Indexes a vast number of books and articles relating to architecture worldwide.

Asian Law Online is the first and only online bibliographic database of Asian law materials in the world. ... Asian Law Online is a collection of English language materials on Asian laws available throughout the world and includes books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses.

"The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is a subsciption based service that includes over 188,000 entries for South Asia. The data included here is a small subset of this larger BAS data. The records included herewith were created with Federal funds and must, therefore, be distributed for free." Published by the Association for Asian Studies.

Find-ER is the library database of the European Commission. Indexes books, articles, documents, and other materials relating to European affairs. Although there some links to full-text documents, the majority of these have restricted access.

Click on HimalDoc under Information Resources. A database of articles, reports, and books chiefly relating to countries in and around the Himalayas: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan. Click on the title of an article to see a description. Maintained by the International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development.

"The Regional Index contains citations from hundreds of newspapers and periodicals as well as monographs, theses, dissertations, scrapbooks, pamphlets and other ephemera dealing with all aspects of life in Seattle, Washington state and the Pacific Northwest from the 1850s to the present. The Regional Index began as a card file in 1936. A retrospective conversion project was initiated in 2000 to make the index accessible online. At the present time, more than 95,000 citations are searchable and hundreds of citations from the card file are being added each week." Produced by the University of Washington Libraries.

Contains citations to works on Irish architecture. Produced by the Architecture and Planning Libraries of Queen's University Belfast and University College Dublin.

Click the link near the top of the search page to change the interface from Hebrew. RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies a bibliographic index to scholarly articles dealing with Judaica. "The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research." The project was begun by the Jewish National and University Library in 1966.

The Getty Institute provides these databases covering material published between 1975 and 2007.

GRAPHBIB is "a collection of over 17,500 unique references to published content in the field of computer graphics and interactive techniques." Supports Boolean searching. Scroll down after submitting a search to see the results. The database is the work of Stephen Spencer and is hosted by ACM SIGGRAPH.

A searchable database of articles and other publications from the Museum of Northern Arizona

Produced by the French Laboratoire de Recherche des Monuments Historiques. Click EN on the Engish/French toggle under the search space. Although the interface is in English, and the materials indexed are in their original languages, including English, it is helpful to have some knowledge of French or to consult a bilingual dictionary in order to find all articles on a given subject. "Fresque," for example, finds references on frescoes, written in English, French, German, and Italian.

"high quality, peer-reviewed abstracts of the international literature of conservation and heritage management in a free online database." A product of the Getty Museum. A simple search is available without registration, or register for full search features.

citations on the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property.

Index of reports, articles, and books relating to the monuments, cultural landscapes, and heritage sites of most countries in the world. Produced by ICOMOS.

NYARC Discovery is a research tool from the New York Art Resources Consortium libraries of the Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art. Click the Open Access link to limit the results to items that can be accessed online by anybody.

Produced by the French Laboratoire de Recherche des Monuments Historiques. Click EN on the Engish/French toggle under the search space. Although the interface is in English, and the materials indexed are in their original languages, including English, it is helpful to have some knowledge of French or to consult a bilingual dictionary in order to find all articles on a given subject. "Fresque," for example, finds references on frescoes, written in English, French, German, and Italian.

Searches both published and preprint material relating to astronomy and astrophysics

Covers astronomical references from ancient times to 2000. Some page images are available.

This service, from the Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg, gives citations and abstracts from a number of important astronomical journals (Astronomy and Astrophysics, Astronomy and Astrophysics Supplements, Astronomical Journal, Astrophysical Journal, Astrophysical Journal Supplement, Baltic Astronomy, Information Bulletin on Variable Stars, New Astronomy, and Publications of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific), as well as bibliographical references from the Simbad astronomical database, which provides basic data, cross-identifications and bibliography for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

Beginning with research funded in 2016, all NASA-funded authors and co-authors (both civil servant and non-civil servant) will be required to deposit copies of their peer-reviewed scientific publications and associated data into NASA’s publication repository called NASA PubSpace.

Sports Science on the Net concentrates on the science of athletic training. Click the flag for the English interface. An advanced search that allows searching by document type, etc., is available. Abstracts are provided; to see them click "Extended" under Views. External links may lead to another bibliographic record (e.g., MEDLINE abatract) or to full text. Published by the Department of Sport Information and Documentation at the Institute of Applied Training Science, Leipzig.

"ETHMED contains literature references from journal and newspaper articles, textbooks, congress reports, academic theses, court decisions, legal texts primarily from German-speaking but also from English-speaking countries." Approx. 25% of the entries contain English abstracts.

Citation database on ethics issues relating to genetics. Provided by Georgetown University.

"The Alaska & Polar Periodical Index cites articles in English about Alaska, northern Canada, northern Scandinavia, the Russian Far East, and Antarctica." Produced by the University of Alaska at Fairbanks.

ASTIS contains citations and abstracts to literature on the arctic regions of northern Canada and Alaska. Produced by the Arctic Institute of North America (University of Calgary).

A preprint server maintained by Cold Spring Harbor, a private, not-for-profit research and education institution.

The database provides "...bibliographic citations to a broad collection of fire ecology literature." Journal articles, conference papers, books, chapters in books, and government documents are included. There is an online thesaurus of subject terms available. Click on the "View full record" link in the result list to view the abstract. Produced and maintained by Tall Timbers Research Station.

U.S. Park Service data portal provides access the the Natural Resource Bibliography. The focus of these records is primarily on reports, articles, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, gray literature, and other documents that contain information on park natural resources.
 : :Works best with Chrome or Edge

Citations to over 450,000 publications on proteins in over 1,000 journals. Simple keyword search. Published by the Protein Research Foundation in Osaka.

"PolarInfo (1996 to the present) is a multidisciplinary collection of references to northern and native subjects. All subject areas are covered including health, education, law, business, political science, geology, cold regions engineering, vegetation, and wildlife. This database is particularly strong in the history of northern exploration and current topics such as native landclaims, native health and educational issues, mining, and the environmental impacts of development in the north." Produced by the Library at the University of Alberta.

An extensive bibliographic database on the international literature of algae. Includes some PDF full text.

The Index contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.). "America" is defined in the broadest possible sense, encompassing land and marine plants and fungi from Greenland to Antarctica. American territory outside this area, e.g., Hawaii, is not included. The searchable database includes all those entries published in the Index since 1996, and thus includes botanical literature appearing since late 1995." A service of the New York Botanical Garden. The current compiler is William R. Buck.