Databases on the Web: Subjects G-H

Citation database on ethics issues relating to genetics. Provided by Georgetown University.

The Faculty of Veterinary Science, U. Sydney, maintains this database. Search the entire database, click on the numbers in a table of major species for single-locus traits or multiple-locus traits, or select from a list of inherited disorders to find animal models for human disorders. Allows the user to match a disorder with an animal species and find citations to journal articles. Index only.

Indexes and abstracts over 100,000 theses, conference papers, journal articles, and news articles on GIS (Geographic Information Systems) theory and applications. May include full text of some conference proceedings.

A large database with entries concerning geographically related literature from 1980 to the present. Advanced search capabilities are available. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books. GEODOK is produced and maintained by the Department of Geology at the University Erlangen-Nuernberg: Erlangen, Germany.

The GEOPHOKA Literature database (GEOdesy, PHOtogrammetry, CArtography) covers publications in these areas from 1984 to the present. Clicking on the document title will show a complete description, including abstract, in the right-hand frame. Produced and maintained by the Bundesamt für Kartographie und Geodásie (Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy), Leipzig branch, Germany.

ASTIS contains citations and abstracts to literature on the arctic regions of northern Canada and Alaska. Produced by the Arctic Institute of North America (University of Calgary).

References relating to stratigraphy. Bibliographic references backing the Australian Stratigraphic Names Database, which provides coding for formally registered geological units. Produced and maintained by Geoscience Australia, Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources in Canberra.

Click Keyword to start. GEOLIS is a bibliographic database on earth sciences, compiled by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST). It includes journal articles and conference papers about the geology of Japan and its adjacent sea area, or geology articles written by Japanese authors.

"This special database highlights references to geoscience publications which have recently been added to our GeoRef production system. Each weekend, completed references are removed from the Preview database and transferred to GeoRef, new references are added, and changes are made in the remaining data." A product of the American Geological Institute.

"A bibliographic database containing scientific publications by the Geological Survey of Canada, the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing and external publications authored by departmental scientists and specialists." Mainly descriptions, limited full text and abstracts.

Abstracts of earthquake-related papers published in research journals based on SCEC funded research. Produced by the Southern California Earthquake Center.

Searches both published and preprint material relating to astronomy, astrophysics, and atmospheric phenomena.

Publications on the archaeology of Great Britain and Ireland.Click title for abstract. A service of the Counsel for British Archaeology.

The Scott Polar Research Institute of Cambridge University maintains this bibliographic database of records, listing books, journal articles, videos, films, and other works published from 1602 through to the current century. Each entry includes a brief annotation describing the nature of the material.

"The Cambodian Genocide Program is attempting to create an indexed catalogue of all known primary and secondary documentary resources pertaining to gross violations of human rights during the Khmer Rouge regime. ... These citations include a sample of the primary documents now known to have survived the years since the Khmer Rouge fell from power as well as the bulk of the secondary literature on the Khmer Rouge regime. Included are a full catalogue of all existing records of the Khmer Rouge prison at Krang Ta Chan in Takeo Province, a catalogue of 800 records of documents from the Khmer Rouge Central Security service known as 'Santebal' (Special Branch), and summaries of newspaper articles on the Khmer Rouge in the Bangkok Post from 1975 to 1979."

HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Scholarly "works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting with Volume 54, the Handbook also includes a section on Electronic Resources for Latin American studies." Annotations (abstracts) are about a year behind. Does not include full text.

"The Chicago Online Bibliography of Mamluk Studies is an on-going project of the Middle East Documentation Center at the University of Chicago, the aim of which is to compile comprehensive bibliographies of all primary sources relating to the Mamluk sultanate of Egypt and Syria, as well as all research and discussion--scholarly and popular--germane to the subject." Searchable by Author, Title, and Subject, or browsable by Subjects.

Searchable by Author, Title, and Subject.. Click on Books, Reprints, Articles, etc.

Bibliothèque Interuniversaire de Médecine (BIUM) of the University René Descartes-Paris 5, "which aims at making accessible ample resources for research in ancient medicine," provides this database of articles. It includes two formerly separate bibliographic collections, the Ancient Medicine Bulletin and the Early Modern Medicine Bulletin. The interface is in French, but the titles and abstracts of some publications are in English.(Not all have abstracts) Use the top search space to enter key word(s).

"PolarInfo (1996 to the present) is a multidisciplinary collection of references to northern and native subjects. All subject areas are covered including health, education, law, business, political science, geology, cold regions engineering, vegetation, and wildlife. This database is particularly strong in the history of northern exploration and current topics such as native landclaims, native health and educational issues, mining, and the environmental impacts of development in the north." Produced by the Library at the University of Alberta.

Citations to articles relating to the history of pharmacy. Search by key word. Truncation is available. It is published by Govi-Verlag; the Internet version is hosted by the University of Karlsruhe. Site is in German, but includes articles from English-language journals

A service of the Maison inter-universitaire des Sciences de l'Homme - Alsace, BAHR (Bulletin analytique d'histoire romaine) contains citations on the history of Rome. English language publications are included. Click on the Union Jack flag next to "Bulletin analytique d'histoire romaine" to start. The easiest strategy is to put a key word or phrase in the title search space click and search button. The resulting list of entries appears in reverse date order. Although there is no abstract, the full record for each citation includes a list of key words that should make the subject matter clear. Journal titles are abbreviated, but the titles are expanded in parentheses following the abbreviation.

Materials for study of women and gender in the ancient world. "Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean . . . " "In late 2019 the decision was made to move the website, ad-free, to the home server of the Women’s Classical Caucus. The migration of content from Diotíma v.1.0 and v.2.0 is now complete." Some content is still under development,

"Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages." Feminae is a cooperative project of several librarians and scholars." Be patient; the search can be somewhat slow.

Change the language from Dutch to English by using the pulldown menu after the search space. Includes many English-language articles and documents. Search in the space; to limit your results to English, click the Engels filter under Taal in th left column. Click Meer info (lightbulb icon) next to an article to see full information and an abstract. Some items, marked Open Source, are available in full text online. Produced and maintained by Wageningen University in the Netherlands.

"The Cambodian Genocide Program is attempting to create an indexed catalogue of all known primary and secondary documentary resources pertaining to gross violations of human rights during the Khmer Rouge regime. ... These citations include a sample of the primary documents now known to have survived the years since the Khmer Rouge fell from power as well as the bulk of the secondary literature on the Khmer Rouge regime. Included are a full catalogue of all existing records of the Khmer Rouge prison at Krang Ta Chan in Takeo Province, a catalogue of 800 records of documents from the Khmer Rouge Central Security service known as 'Santebal' (Special Branch), and summaries of newspaper articles on the Khmer Rouge in the Bangkok Post from 1975 to 1979."

Findoc contains records with abstracts of human-rights literature. The publisher, Institute for Human Rights at Åbo Akademi University, is the documentation centre in Finland for literature on human rights. Try using the Index button for keywords. The default sort is oldest to newest publication date.

Labordoc is an international bibliographic database covering journal articles, books, and other documents relating to "all aspects of work and sustainable livelihoods, and the work-related aspects of economic and social development and human rights." Created and maintained by the ILO. Documents may contain a link to the full text, although for some of these access is limited to the ILO.