Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See also Medicine
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Abstracts of books, articles, chapters, and other material on child abuse, child neglect, and child welfare are available. Click on item title to see full pubication information. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Add Health Publications Database
Add Health Publications Database gives citations of articles and other publications, as well as presentations, unpublished manuscripts, and dissertations, by Add Health researchers. "The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health (Add Health) is a nationally representative study that explores the causes of health-related behaviors of adolescents in grades 7 through 12 and their outcomes in young adulthood." The database is produced by the University of North Carolina Carolina publication center.
BULB Bibliography of Literature for Young People
BULB Bibliography of Children's and Young Persons' Literature (Barn- och ungdomslitteraturbibliografin) includes works on the history and theory of children's and young persons' literature, on authors and illustrators, and on the use of fiction (particularly children's and young persons' literature) at pre-school and school level. If the interface appears in Swedish, click "English" at the top of the screen. BULB has been produced since 1984 by the Swedish Institute for Children's Books (SBI).
* GNOMON Online: The Eichstätt System for Classical Studies *
Gnomon Online is an index to books, chapters, and journal articles on the classical studies. Click EN in the toolbar to change the language of the interface to English. Searching is by key word, author, date, title words, or thesaurus terms. A limited number of entries have abstracts; most do not. Produced by the Library of the Catholic University Eichstátt-Ingolstadt.
Nestor is an international bibliography of journal articles and books relating to Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. "The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, the southern coast of Bulgaria, the western and southern coasts of Turkey, and Cyprus. Its chronological range is the prehistoric period from the Palaeolithic through the end of the Geometric period." Published by the Department of Classics at the University of Cincinnati.
TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)
TOCS-IN stands for "Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists." TOCS-IN searches tables of contents for approximately 185 journals and for printed collections of papers, such as festschriften and conference proceedings. A project of the University of Toronto.
ARM Publications Database
The ARM Bibliography Database is a service of the ARM Climate Research Facility, which is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy since 1989. The database provides "access to information about journal articles, technical reports, and conference proceedings published by ARM Scientists and infrastructure staff members. We also list journal articles in which the authors acknowledge using ARM data or facilities in their research." The database is searchable by author, publication type, range of years, or words in the title.
Bibliography of Dendrochronology
Indexes and abstracts printed literature dealing with dendrochronology, the study of dating using tree rings. Over 14,000 entries. Maintained by Henri D. Grissino-Mayer of the Department of Geography at the University of Tennessee
DOE PAGES (Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science)
Department of Energy site that includes scientific or technical documents relating to energy and its related topics.
Sea Grant Publications Database
Documents include journal articles, technical reports, books, papers, and other materials on oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law. Click a title to see an abstract. Some materials are available in full text.
Alaska & Polar Periodical Index
"The Alaska & Polar Periodical Index cites articles in English about Alaska, northern Canada, northern Scandinavia, the Russian Far East, and Antarctica." Produced by the University of Alaska at Fairbanks.
ASTIS (Arctic Science and Technology Information System)
ASTIS contains citations and abstracts to literature on the arctic regions of northern Canada and Alaska. Produced by the Arctic Institute of North America (University of Calgary).
"PolarInfo (1996 to the present) is a multidisciplinary collection of references to northern and native subjects. All subject areas are covered including health, education, law, business, political science, geology, cold regions engineering, vegetation, and wildlife. This database is particularly strong in the history of northern exploration and current topics such as native landclaims, native health and educational issues, mining, and the environmental impacts of development in the north." Produced by the Library at the University of Alberta.
The Scott Polar Research Institute of Cambridge University maintains this bibliographic database of records, listing books, journal articles, videos, films, and other works published from 1602 through to the current century. Each entry includes a brief annotation describing the nature of the material.
ACM Digital Library
Use the simple search or the browsable indexes to find articles on computing. Abstracts are viewable, but full text is a members-only option. Published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
BIBLIO [Artificial Intelligence]
Gives citations to articles, papers, and books on subjects relating to artificial intelligence, including neural networks. A service of the Department of Medical Cybernetics and Artificial Intelligence (Institut für Medizinische Kybernetik und Artificial Intelligence - IMKAI) and the Austrian Research Institute for Artificial Intelligence (ÓFAI) at the Medical University of Vienna.
"CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific lit
erature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. "
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies allows access to the contents of approximately 1400 bibliographies in computer science, and contains approximately 1.4 million citations to journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, and books. Most entries have abstracts, available by clicking on the link to the BibTeX entry. Approximately ten percent have links to the full text of an article, which may in one various formats, some of which may be read on screen; others must be downloaded and unzipped or converted. Produced and maintained by Alf-Christian Achilles.
Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
Abstract & full-text database of technical papers on computing subjects. Click PDF link for full text.
DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
This service provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. dblp is a joint service of the University of Trier and Schloss Dagstuhl. An "Ask Others" link next to each entry makes it possible to look for that item in Google Scholar.
HCIbib: Human-Computer Interaction Resources
HCIbib covers publications on human-computer interaction, including journal articles, conference proceedings, and Web sites. Abstracts are included; occasional entries may have links to free full text items. Others require a subscription to view full text.
IEEE Computer Science Digital Library
Searches computer-related publications of the IEEE; provides citations and abstracts.
Search for conflict resolution resources
Conservation of Natural Resources
A database of research conducted by the scientists participating in the U.S. Long-Term Ecological Research (LTER) Network, a network of "Research Networks of scientists, collectively engaged and dedicated to multi- and interdisciplinary long-term and large spatial scale research and monitoring in ecological science including human dimensions."
NSCEP (a.k.a. NEPIS)
The National Service Center for Environmental Publications lets you search for EPA documents
* NCJRS Abstracts *
Criminal justice abstract database, including crime, juvenile justice, law enforcement, corrections, courts, etc. To limit result to journal articles, type "AND Journal" along with your search term(s). When the NCJRS server has full text of a work, a link connects the user from the abstract to the full text. Journal articles and book chapters are not included in full text. From the National Criminal Justice Reference Service.
IDRC Library Search
A database of documents, books, and videos relating to international development in the library of the The International Development Research Centre (IDRC), an institution devoted to assisting developing countries. The search form makes sophisticated searches easy. Coverage is 1961 to the present.
IFPRI Knowledge Repository
The International Food Policy Research Institute tries to identify and analyze "alternative international, national, and local policies for improved food security and nutrition, with an emphasis on low-income countries and poor people and on the sound management of the natural resources base that supports agriculture."
World Bank/IMF Library Network
The database of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund.
Medline Dietary Supplement Subset Search
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database was a collaboration between the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the U.S. Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library. It has been succeeded by the Dietary Supplements subset on MEDLINE, which provides a database of published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals. The Dietary Supplement subset is a joint project between the NIH National Library of Medicine and the ODS.
* REHABDATA *
The database has advanced search features, including an online thesaurus. Published by NARIC (National Rehabilitation Information Center). In addition to its original scope of U.S. material, REHABDATA now includes international sources formerly in the Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) .
Source International Online Resource Centre of disability information contains articles and other documents relating to international health concerns. Citations and keywords are provided. Occasional documents available on the World Wide Web are linked to the source. The collection is managed by Handicap International.
Appears not to have been updated since 2013.. DESASTRES includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, and other documents relating to natural and man-made disasters. It is produced by the Disaster Documentation Center of the Pan American Health Organization. Although originating in PAHO, the scope is not limited to the Americas.
Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
Disaster Lit is maintained by the National Library of Medicine; it contains links to grey literature from 1400 noncommercial sources.
journal articles, reports, and books relating to a wide variety of hazards and risks. Abstracts are included when available. It is produced by the Natural Hazards Center at the University of Colorado.
See also Earthquakes and Fire
Drug Abuse see Substance Abuse & Addiction
Drugs, Physiological Effects of
* TOXLINE *
TOXLINE articles have been integrated into PubMed in a Toxicology Subset. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, dissertations, and other material pertaining to toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.. Other specialized toxicological databases such as DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center) and GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology-Mutagenicity) are available from this interface. A National Library of Medicine database.
MAPS Psychedelic Bibliography
A "...collection of literature references concerning over 60 years of research on psychedelic compounds. This research covers their effects, their use in the fields of psychedelic and psycholytic therapy, synthesis, analytical methods, human and animal toxicology, biochemistry, chemistry, clinical studies, in vitro studies, legal history, metabolism, neurochemistry, pharmacology, studies with the dying, and more." Provides abstracts and some full-text articles, including a frequently-updated collection of articles on MDMA (ecstasy). Published by MAPS (Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies).