Databases on the Web

"ETHMED contains literature references from journal and newspaper articles, textbooks, congress reports, academic theses, court decisions, legal texts primarily from German-speaking but also from English-speaking countries." Approx. 25% of the entries contain English abstracts.

Citation database on ethics issues relating to genetics. Provided by Georgetown University.

"The Alaska & Polar Periodical Index cites articles in English about Alaska, northern Canada, northern Scandinavia, the Russian Far East, and Antarctica." Produced by the University of Alaska at Fairbanks.

ASTIS contains citations and abstracts to literature on the arctic regions of northern Canada and Alaska. Produced by the Arctic Institute of North America (University of Calgary).

A preprint server maintained by Cold Spring Harbor, a private, not-for-profit research and education institution.

The database provides "...bibliographic citations to a broad collection of fire ecology literature." Journal articles, conference papers, books, chapters in books, and government documents are included. There is an online thesaurus of subject terms available. Click on the "View full record" link in the result list to view the abstract. Produced and maintained by Tall Timbers Research Station.

U.S. Park Service data portal provides access the the Natural Resource Bibliography. The focus of these records is primarily on reports, articles, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, gray literature, and other documents that contain information on park natural resources.
 : :Works best with Chrome or Edge

Citations to over 450,000 publications on proteins in over 1,000 journals. Simple keyword search. Published by the Protein Research Foundation in Osaka.

Research documents thematically relevant to the circumpolar high north. The service covers all subjects and many languages, and is free and open for all. Open Polar is a service devoloped by
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
and the Norwegian Polar Institute

An extensive bibliographic database on the international literature of algae. Includes some PDF full text.

The Index contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.). "America" is defined in the broadest possible sense, encompassing land and marine plants and fungi from Greenland to Antarctica. American territory outside this area, e.g., Hawaii, is not included. The searchable database includes all those entries published in the Index since 1996, and thus includes botanical literature appearing since late 1995." A service of the New York Botanical Garden. The current compiler is William R. Buck.