Skip to main content

Textbook Lending Library and Course Reserves: Lending Library and Course Reserves

Introduction

Textbooks and course materials are available for checkout through the Lending Library and Course Reserves.  These are physical items that are kept behind the circulation desk and can check out for varying lengths of time.  The materials are provided by instructors or departments and are set aside for students in Chemeketa's classes.

To checkout textbooks and other course materials you must provide a valid Chemeketa Student ID Card.

Printable version of this page (handout)

Lending Library Collections

CL (Student Retention and College Life) Collection:

  • Also known as the Chemeketa Textbook Lending Library
  • Students must meet minimum requirements for the first week of the term and go through a referral process.
  • Open to all students second week of the term.
  • This collection houses over 400 titles and 1,500 items in both new and old editions.
  • Please visit the Affordable Textbook website for more details.

TRIO Collection:

  • Textbooks in this collection are specifically reserved for students in the TRIO Program; however, the collection opens up to all students the second week of the term.
  • There is no allocated budget for this collection it is donation based.  Most of the textbooks were donated by TRIO students. 
  • This collection houses over 200 titles and 600 items in both new and old editions.
  • Contact the TRIO Program for more information.

Other Lending Library Collections

AD (Academic Development) Collection:

  • Comprised of textbooks from the ESOL Program, Spanish GED Program, and Developmental Reading and Writing.
  • This is a need based program.  Students must receive a form from their instructor indicating that they are eligible to check out an AD textbook.
  • This collection is comprised of over 50 titles and 600 items.

VESL Collection:

  • VESL (Vocational English as a Second Language) Early Childhood Education Program)
  • Students in this program are guaranteed a book and will receive a form to check out their item authorized by their instructor.
  • This collection is comprised of 9 titles and 200 items.

 

Course Reserves

Salem Reserves:

  • Reserves with  “PC” (textbooks) or “PVR” (DVDs) prefixes usually check out for 2 hours and are in-library use.
  • Instructors/Departments determine how long reserve items check out for.
  • Library owned items may be placed on reserve by an instructor for a class.  These items maintain their dewey decimal call number, but are housed behind the circulation desk.
  • Hold slips are available to reserve PC textbooks for a specific day and time.  This hold can be placed at the library circulation desk or over the phone.

Yamhill Reserves:

  • Yamhill Valley Campus purchases specific textbooks to be placed on reserve.  Instructors may also bring materials for student access.
  • Reserves with “PCY” prefixes are housed at the Yamhill Valley Campus Library and Tutoring Center.
  • Items at Yamhill generally check out for 2 hours and are on-campus use.
  • YVC Reserves are not only comprised of textbooks.  Their collection also includes: graphing calculators, rocks and minerals, board games, sports equipment, and DVDs.
  • Hold slips are available to reserve PCY textbooks for a specific day and time.  This hold can be placed at the library circulation desk or over the phone.