Textbook Lending Library and Course Reserves

Textbooks and course materials are available for checkout through the Lending Library and Course Reserves.  These are physical items that are kept behind the circulation desk and can check out for varying lengths of time.  The materials are provided by instructors or departments and are set aside for students in Chemeketa's classes.

To check out textbooks and other course materials you must provide a valid Chemeketa Student ID.

AD (Academic Development) Collection:

• Comprised of textbooks from the ESOL Program, Spanish GED Program, and Developmental Reading and Writing
• Checked out on a first come, first served basis
• Books are not guaranteed
• This is a need-based program.  Students must receive authorization from their instructor indicating that they are eligible to check out an AD textbook.
• Spanish GED students have a physical authorization form that must be completed and taken to the circulation desk
• ESOL students must have a Google form submitted by their instructor or staff member prior to checking out a textbook

CL (College Life) Collection:

• Open to all students
• Checked out on a first come, first served basis
• Books are not guaranteed
• Collection contains both new and old editions
• These items can be requested through Primo Library Search 

IET ECE Collection:

• IET ECE (Integrated Education Training: Early Childhood Education)
• Students in this program are guaranteed a book
• Students must receive authorization from their instructor/program indicating that they are eligible to check out an IET ECE textbook.

TRIO Collection:

• Open to all students
• There is no allocated budget for this collection. It is donation based.  Most of the textbooks were donated by TRIO students. 
• Checked out on a first come, first served basis
• Books are not guaranteed
• Collection contains both new and old editions
• TRIO items can be requested through Primo Library Search
• Contact the TRIO Program for more information

Salem Campus Reserves:

• Reserves with  “PC” (textbooks) or “PVR” (DVDs) prefixes usually check out for 2 hours and are in-library use.
• Reserves with "PC TERM" call numbers are part of a class set purchased by a department to check out for the term.
• Instructors/Departments determine how long reserve items check out for.
• Library owned items may be placed on reserve by an instructor for a class.  These items maintain their dewey decimal call number, but are housed behind the circulation desk.
• Hold slips are available to reserve PC textbooks for a specific day and time.  This hold can be placed at the library circulation desk or over the phone.

Yamhill Valley Campus Reserves:

• Yamhill Valley Campus purchases specific textbooks to be placed on reserve.  Instructors may also bring materials for student access.
• Two Hour Reserves with “PCY” prefixes are housed at the Yamhill Valley Campus Library and Tutoring Center.
• YVC Reserves are not only comprised of textbooks.  Their collection also includes: graphing calculators, rocks and minerals, board games and DVDs.
• Hold slips are available to reserve Two Hour PCY textbooks for a specific day and time.  This hold can be placed at the library circulation desk or over the phone.