Skip to main content

Textbook Lending Library and Course Reserves: FAQ

What are Course Reserves?

Reserves are materials set aside for students in Chemeketa's classes. They consist mainly of textbooks and DVDs, but items such as rocks and minerals, graphing calculators, and maps are also available. Instructors or departments provide these items and determine their checkout times.

What is the Lending Library?

The Lending Library consists of textbook collections owned by specific departments.  These departments set their own parameters for who can check out their items.  Current collections in the Lending Library include:

  • AD – Academic Development Collection
  • CL – College Life Lending Library Collection
  • TRIO – TRIO Collection
  • VESL – Vocational English as a Second Language Collection

Items in these collection check out for the entire term and may require a referral form or minimum requirements.

What do I need to check out a textbook?

  • Student ID Card
  • Title of the textbook
  • Course  number (ex. ART101)

Where do I go to check out a textbook?

  • Salem Campus: Items check out at the Library Circulation Desk, building 9, room 200
  • Yamhill Valley Campus: Items check out at the Library & Tutoring Center front desk, building 1, room 200
  • Polk Center: Items requested through the Lending Library can be checked out at the front desk
  • Woodburn Center: Items requested through the Lending Library can be checked out at the Woodburn Public Library

Does the library have every textbook for every class?

Items are on a first come, first served basis.  Though not every title is provided, the Lending Library and Textbook Reserves have an extensive collection. 

  • AD Collection: over 50 titles and 600 items
  • CL Collection: over 400 titles and 1,500 items
  • TRIO Collection: over 200 titles and 600 items
  • VESL Collection:  9 titles and over 200 items
  • PC Collection: over 300 titles and 700 items
  • PCY Collection: over 300 titles and 500 items

Items in the PC Collection are provided by instructors or departments.  If the library does not have a textbook for your class, you can ask the instructor or department if they have a copy they could place on reserve for student use.

How do I know which collection an item belongs to?

All Lending Library and Course Reserve call numbers will start with one of the following prefixes:

  • CL – College Life Lending Library Collection
  • TRIO – TRIO Collection
  • AD – Academic Development Collection
  • PC – Salem Campus Reserves
  • PCY – Yamhill Valley Campus Reserves
  • VESL – Vocational English as a Second Language Collection

For more information regarding each collection see the Lending Library and Course Reserves tab.

Is there a charge for checking out a Lending Library or Course Reserve item?

Checking out Lending Library and Course Reserve items is free.  The items must be returned at the end of the term.  Fines and fees do apply to items returned late.

Is there a charge for returning a Lending Library or Course Reserve item late?

Item: Charge:
Course Reserve: 2 Hour $0.25 / hour / item
Course Reserve: 4 Hour $1.00 / hour / item
All other Reserves and Lending Library $1.00 / day / item

Once a Lending Library or Course Reserve item is considered Lost a $5.00 nonrefundable charge is added to your account.

If you have an item that goes to Lost contact the Library Circulation Desk: 503.399.5043

Where can I turn in a library book when the library is closed?

  • Salem Campus: Book drop located outside of building 9, on the left side of the loading dock entrance.  This is located in the Green Parking Lot. 
  • Yamhill Valley Campus: Book drop outside of building 1 near the front entrance.
  • Polk Center:  Unavailable
  • Woodburn Public Library: A drive by book drop is available near the front entrance of the library.

Can I renew a Lending Library or Course Reserve item?

Unfortunately, these high demand items are unable to be renewed.