Primo Library Search is a Chemeketa Community College library database used to find books, articles, and media in online and physical formats. It is the only library database that searches for print books, magazines and DVDs in the library's collection. It also finds materials in Summit libraries.
If you wanted to check out a copy of The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger, you would use Primo Library Search to determine if Chemeketa Community College library owns a copy. If you wanted the March 2020 issue of Sports Illustrated, you would use Primo Library Search to determine if the library subscribes to Sports Illustrated and if so, whether or not the March 2020 issue is available to checkout.
Primo Library Search also searches for articles, books and media available in electronic formats in most of the other databases Chemeketa subscribes to.
This short video will show you how to use Library Search to discover books and articles in print and full text online at Chemeketa and many other libraries.
Print books show "Available" under the description with a library location and a call number. Most of the books that can be checked out are in the General Collection, at the far end of the library. The call number is shown in parentheses after the library location. Use the call number to find the item on the shelf.
Electronic books show "Online access" or "Full text available" under the description. "Online access" is a link that will take you directly to the book. "Full text available" will take you to a link that you can follow to read the book.
Summit is the system used to request books and other items from 37 college and university libraries in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho. You must be logged into the Primo library search to see Summit links.
Any item in the library search results that says Check holdings is a potential Summit Plus physical item request.
You can check on your your request in your Library Account.
You can renew your Summit book by signing into your library account in Primo or from the Library Account button on the library home page. Note: If the item has been requested by a user of the library that has lent it, renewal will be blocked.
Chemeketa Community College library uses the Dewey Decimal System. Every book has a Dewey Decimal call number that's used to keep books organized and to find them on the shelf. Call numbers group books on the same subject in the same location on the shelf. For example, all of the books with the 551.21 call number are about volcanoes. Because there is often more than one book with the same call number, the first letters of the author's last name and additional numbers are included.
The book with the call number above (REF 423.1 Up8) is located in the Reference collection in the call number area 423.1 and the author's last name is Upton.
Library Search - Find books, ebooks, articles, media, & more