Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Article Databases for Business & Economics
All the electronic databases listed in this section may be accessed by going to the library's Database Page. If you are using databases from off campus, you will need your My Chemeketa user name and password.
Web Sites for Business & Economics
A report published by the Federal Reserve Board eight times each year, the Beige Book reports on economic trends in each of the twelve Federal Reserve districts. A link at the foot of the page leads to other monetary policy tools and documents.
Sample business plans
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Economic information about the United States. Contains data on Gross Domestic Product (GDP) in the form of news releases and the latest issue of the Bureau's publication, Survey of Current Business.
Census Business Builder: Small Business Edition
Tool for persons starting a new business. Shows a map with demographic data tailored to the type of business and geographic area the user selects.
EDGAR, the electronic data gathering, analysis and retrieval system
Electronic filings by corporations to the US Securites and Exchange Commission. The actual annual report to shareholders (except in the case of investment companies) need not be submitted on EDGAR, although some companies do so voluntarily. The annual report on Form 10-K or 10-KSB, however, which contains much of the same information, is required to be filed on EDGAR.
Fidelity Stock Research Center
Database searchable by stock and fund ticker symbols from stock exchanges. Generates stock charts on demand and can also provide historical price quotes.
Knowledge @ Wharton
Wharton School of Business site with articles based on Wharton research; contains information on subjects including business ethics, leadership, and health economics, among others. Requires free registration.
Page One Economics
An "economic information portal for librarians and students." Includes links to international, national, and regional resources and the International Economic Statistics Database."
Patents & Trademarks: USPTO
Free access to patent database which is complete back to 1976.Searchable by Boolean keywords or by patent number. The full text of the patent is available in HTML. Images may be viewed by clicking on a button, but require a browser plugin which can interpret a TIFF G4 image. Pre-1976 patents are searchable by patent number and viewable only as a TIFF file.
Patents: Foreign Patents at Espace.net
European patent applications and issued patents in their original language, Japanese patent first pages in English (1976-present), patents issued by the World Intellectual Property Organization, in their original language (1990-present).
Patents: Google Patents
Google has an easy patent search that covers U.S. and world patents. There is a built in viewer and PDF download, even for older patents.
Ten Steps to Start Your Business
Packed with helpful information about small business, this site includes a business plan tutorial.