LibraryGuides: Business & Economics: Background and Browsing

Welcome! Here Are Some Reference Books You May Find Useful

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by Burton S. Kaliski; Macmillan Reference U. S. A. Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF 650.03 En1 2007
ISBN: 0028660617
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Small Business by Thomson Gale Staff
ISBN: 0787691127
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Management, 8th ed. by Gale
ISBN: 1410389367
Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries by Gale Cengage Learning (Editor)
ISBN: 1410379779
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History by Gale (Editor)
ISBN: 1573027537
Publication Date: 2015
The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia by Cynthia Clark
ISBN: 9781598844610
Publication Date: 2011
An encyclopedia of the economic history of the united states.
The Business of Sports by Brad R. Humphreys (Editor); Dennis R. Howard (Editor)
ISBN: 9780275993405
Publication Date: 2008
In-depth articles on the business and economic aspects of sports.
Concise Dictionary of Business Management by David A. Statt
Call Number: REF 658.003 St2
ISBN: 0415188660
Publication Date: 1999
Corporate Disasters by Gale (Firm) Staff
ISBN: 9781414496146
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Descriptions and analyses of business blunders or wrongdoing through history.
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms by John Downes; Jordan Elliot Goodman
Call Number: REF 332.03 D75 2006
ISBN: 0764134167
Publication Date: 2006
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by Kevin Wilson; Jennifer Wauson
Call Number: REF 808.06665 W69 2010
ISBN: 9780814415894
Publication Date: 2010
Routledge Dictionary of Economics by Donald Rutherford
ISBN: 0203102495
Publication Date: 2013

More Reference Sources

Directories

National Directories

Business Insights Global directory of companies (businesses)
Thomasnet (manufacturers)
Whitepages.com

International Directories

See Business Insights: Global directory of companies, above

Company Histories

Company histories are included in Business Insights: Global Company Histories

Market Information

Sample Business Plans

Small Business Resource Center has sample business plans and many other resources for starting a business.

Browsing Lists

Course Guides

Getting Reference Help

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.