Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Databases to Find Articles
All the electronic databases listed in this section may be accessed by going to the library's Database Page. If you are using databases from off campus, you will need your My Chemeketa user name and password.
TIP: When using keywords, try truncating: theor* finds theory, theories, theoretical, etc. (* is the truncation character for Gale).
When Should I Use a Database?
Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:
- Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walking dead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
- Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
- Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in Primo Library Search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search
Big Picture Book of Viruses
Great site for information on viruses. "The Big Picture Book of Viruses is intended to serve as both a catalog of virus pictures on the Internet and as an educational resource to those seeking more information about viruses. To this end, it is intimately linked to All the Virology on the WWW, and our collection of Virology Courses and Tutorials." There are various ways to search: by name, virus family, disease, etc.
Bio-Tech Life Science Dictionary
More than 8300 terms deal with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology and genetics; there are also some terms relating to ecology, pharmacology, toxicology and medicine.
Biology Project - University of Arizona
An "interactive online resource for learning biology developed at The University of Arizona." Includes problem sets and tutorials in various areas of basic biology. There are many illustrations. A Guided Tour is available.
Ecosystems Mission Area (USGS)
Major links to all sorts of government biology information. Searchable.
Fact Sheets About Science Research & Ethics
Part of Genome, Unlocking Life's Code, a site from the National Human Genome Research Institute. Disponible en español
Genome: Unlocking Life's Code
Collection of illustrations relating to genetics. All illustrations are in the public domain. A joint project of the Smithsonian Institution and the National Institutes of Health.
Internet Directory for Botany
"The Internet Directory of Botany is an index to botanical information available on the Internet, compiled by Anthony R. Brach (Harvard University Herbarium, Cambridge / Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, USA, www page), Raino Lampinen (Botanical Museum, Finnish Museum of Natural History, University of Helsinki, Finland; www page), Shunguo Liu (G.F Ledingham Herbarium, University of Regina, Canada; www page) and Keith McCree (Oakridge, Oregon; www page). It consists of two parts, an alphabetical directory and a categorical directory." Indexes and categorizes a huge number of sites relating to plants.
Kimball's Biology Pages
Reference manual for introductory biology students. Alphabetical list of terms with brief definitions and some links to more information.
Marine Biology Web
Contains a glossary of marine biology, bibliographies ("Marine Biology Reference") of selected materials on topics in marine biology, and links to related sites.
MIT Open Courseware: Biology
Biology course materials from the Massachusettes Institute of Technology
NatureServe Explorer [is] a source for authoritative conservation information on more than 50,000 plants, animals, and ecological communities of the United States and Canada. NatureServe Explorer provides in-depth information on rare and endangered species, but includes common plants and animals too. NatureServe Explorer is a product of NatureServe and its network of natural heritage programs."
A horticultural/agronomy search engine linked to over 40 databases. Also includes image files and videos. A project of Ohio State University.
Search biology sites with our customized search tool.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Call Number: REF 808.02 P96 2020
Publication Date: 2020
The official guide to the current (7th) format.
Our APA Pages
Guide gives examples of various electronic resources to which Chemeketa subscribes.
What's this DOI Stuff?
Explains what DOI means and how to use it, with what to do when there isn't one.
Getting Reference Help
- E-mail a Question to Reference
- Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
- Chat reference: Please use the form below
- We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.