Speeches in Publications - Speeches - How to Find Them - LibraryGuides at Chemeketa Community College

Speeches in Books

Printed Books of Speeches to Check Out
Most books will contain speeches; a few present analyses of speeches.
E-Books of Speeches
Most books will contain speeches; a few present analyses of speeches.

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.

Landmark Documents on the U. S. Congress by Raymond W. Smock
Call Number: REF 328.7309 L23
ISBN: 1568023995
Publication Date: 1998
Includes a section of speeches. Also available as an electronic book.
Lend Me Your Ears by William Safire (Editor)
Call Number: REF 808.85 L547
ISBN: 0393040054
Publication Date: 1997
A collection of famous speeches in history.
Representative American Speeches, 1937-1997 by Calvin M. Logue (Editor)
Call Number: REF 815.5408 R29S 1937-1997
ISBN: 0824209311
Publication Date: 1998
Thematically-arranged speeches given between 1937 and 1997.
Speech Index by Charity Mitchell
Call Number: REF 016.80885 Su8
ISBN: 0810815184
Publication Date: 1990
Look up the subject or author you want. Each speech indexed has a short descriptive title, followed by one or more letter/number codes. (Example HIB:116.) The codes refer to an alphabetical list in the front of the volume. If you look up HIB, you will find Hibbett, George W., ed. The Dolphin Book of Speeches. ... 1965. You would then look in the library catalog to see whether Chemeketa has that book. The number after the colon in the code is the page number in the book. Covers resources published 1966-1980.
Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995 by Deborah Gillan Straub (Editor)
Call Number: REF 815.0080920693 V87
ISBN: 0810393786
Publication Date: 1995

Vital Speeches of the Day

A monthly magazine that gives the texts of recent, notable American speeches
Chemeketa has from 1975 to the present.
Current year is in the Periodicals Collection
Previous Years in General Collection at 808.85 V83
Indexed in Academic OneFile; in full text from January 1, 1993 - July 15, 2002
Use link above to connect; use the Search within Publication space to search only in the magazine:

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents

Not all articles are speeches, but most are speeches by the U.S. President.
Chemeketa does not subscribe to the paper version. Full text articles are available on the Web on Gov Info, or

search the Compilation by going to the Gov Info Advanced Search.
Under Refine by Collection, check off "Compilation of Presidential Documents."
Under Selected Collections, click on "All Collections" and click the Remove button
Put a key word or phrase in the Search In space.