Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding information about a specific locality is often much harder than finding global or national information. Sometimes there isn't someone collecting and organizing a particular kind of information at the local level. You must find what local information you can, and cautiously extend more general information to your specific case.
For example, if you're looking for information about a city government's policy about on-street parking, you might go to the city's web site and find the parking ordinances, planning information, and perhaps city council minutes. Then you might search in periodical indexes and technical report servers and apply some information about policies that had worked in other places to your local case.
Lost & Confused Signpost ©WonderWoman0731 used under a CreativeCommons CC-By license
America's News This link opens in a new window
Includes numerous regional and local newspapers
Chemeketa has full text of the Statesman Journal newspaper from 1999 to the present in ProQuest Central
Oregonian Collection This link opens in a new window
Print version text available from 1987 through current. Web version text available from 2012 through current.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central searches for articles in more than forty subject area databases that include Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities content. Click on Databases (4)
to select specific databases or subject areas to search within. br>
How to use
More Oregon Sources
Historic Oregon Newspapers
Historic Oregon Newspapers contains full text newspapers from Oregon's pas that were collected and digitized by the University of Oregon. Most are pre-1923; a limited number of post-1923 titles are available
The official State of Oregon site.
An authoritative site from the Oregon Historical Society, covering both historical and present-day topics
Oregon Historic Photograph Collections
Includes photos from many sources, including including the Ben Maxwell estate, the Statesman Journal, Oregon State Archives, Marion County Historical Society, the Asahel Bush family, and other contributors
Oregon History Project
An Oregon Historical Society site with historical and biographical information about the state of Oregon
The Oregon Index
Index to older issues of eight Oregon newspapers including The Statesman Journal (1987 - 2003). Not full text; citations only.
Oregon State Library Digital Collections
Searchable archive of material digitized by the State Library.
Voters' Pamphlets from Oregon Elections
Includes Voters' Pamphlets from 1904 to the present; contain not only the candidates for office, but the text of ballot measures and statements from groups and individuals in favor of or opposed to the measure.
Voter and Election Information
Chemeketa Community College - News and Information