LibraryGuides: Deaf and Deafness Resources: Getting Started

Reference

Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders by Carol Turkington; Allen E. Sussman
ISBN: 9780816056156
Publication Date: 2003
Contains articles on physical and medical aspects of deafness and shorter articles on related persons, topics, and organizations
Deafness and Hearing Impairment by Clayton Farris Naff
ISBN: 9780737747881
Publication Date: 2010
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness by John V. Van Cleve
ISBN: 0070792291
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
Somewhat dated, but still the definitive and comprehensive encyclopedia on all aspects of deafness, scientific, social, and historical
Deaf Persons in the Arts and Sciences by Harry G. Lang; Bonnie Meath-Lang
Call Number: REF 920.00871 L25 1995
ISBN: 0313291705
Publication Date: 1995
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language by Clayton Valli (Editor); Peggy Swartzel Lott (Illustrator); Daniel Renner (Illustrator); Rob Hills (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781954622012
Publication Date: 2021
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language by Peggy Swartzel Lott (Illustrator); Daniel Renner (Illustrator); Rob Hills (Illustrator); Clayton Valli (Editor)
Call Number: REF 419.03 G13 2005
ISBN: 1563682826
Publication Date: 2006
American Sign Language Dictionary by Martin L. Sternberg (Editor)
Call Number: REF419St4
ISBN: 0062732757
Publication Date: 1995
A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language by Emily Shaw; Yves Delaporte; Carole Marion (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1563686228
Publication Date: 2015

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.