Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PRI's The World
PRI's The World is a daily one-hour radio program featuring stories from around the world. The World is heard on over 300 stations across North America. There are multiple options for listening to the program, including live on the radio, via podcasts such as the links below, or by going to the PRI's The World website. The website offers text and images to supplement the radio program. For an example of value added items on the website, look at "Indian College Women Push Back Against Curfews."
National Geographic News and Library Database
National Geographic News is an online feature of the National Geographic Society a large nonprofic scientific and educational institution interested in geography, archeology and natural science, and the promotion of environmental and historical conservation (find out more by visiting About the NGS).
The Chemeketa Community College Library also subscribes to the National Geographic Virtual Library.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Current issues and archive of National Geographic magazine. Includes image and advertisement searching. Coverage: 1888 - present.
Cultural Orientation Resource Center
The Center for Applied Linguistics provides this site with information about recently-arrived refugee groups in the United States. "Culture Profiles" in the Publications area contains online books and videos describing the cultures of a number of peoples. This archived site connects to the current CAL site, with more resources
Ethnomed is a site from Harborview Medical Center in Seattle. It focuses on ethnic groups in the Seattle area, giving cultural and community profiles of the following groups: Amharic; Cambodian; Chinese; Eritrean; Ethiopian; Mexican; Oromo; Somali; Tigrean; Vietnamese; Arab; Lao; Mien; Samoan; South Asian; Soviet Jewish; Ukrainian. Although the site is written with health care workers in mind, there is valuable general information on culture and customs, with bibliographies.
A searchable site with links to information about indigenous peoples around the world. Includes many Native American sites.