It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Types of Evidence: Finding Evidence
What types of evidence will support your argument?
"This handout will provide a broad overview of gathering and using evidence. It will help you decide what counts as evidence, put evidence to work in your writing, and determine whether you have enough evidence."
"Evidence is the concrete facts used to support a claim. Ideally, evidence is something everyone agrees on, or something that anyone could, with sufficient training and equipment, verify for themselves."
"It is imperative that you substantiate statements of fact, facts you may think "everyone knows". Many ideas or "facts" are actually assumptions or even myths that have often taken on the status of fact. "
Index to approximately 10,000 periodicals covering a wide variety of subject areas, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles. Many are in full text. Includes full text of the New York Times from 1985. How to Use
CQ Researcher is an excellent resource for topic selection and research on current and controversial topics. Each topic includes background and overview information, outlook, pro/con arguments, and suggestions for finding more information.
Each topic includes background and overview information, outlook, pro/con arguments, and suggestions for finding more information.
Opposing Viewpoints is a Gale database that provides background information and viewpoint articles on controversial issues. Also has topic overviews, court case overviews, organization profiles, and statistics.
ProQuest Central searches for articles in more than forty subject area databases that include Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities content. Click on Databases (4) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within. br> How to use