Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mythology & Folklore: Find Books & More

What is Primo Library Search?

Primo Library Search is a Chemeketa Community College library database used to find books, articles, and media in online and physical formats.  It is the only library database that searches for print books, magazines and DVDs in the library's collection.  It also finds materials in Summit libraries

If you wanted to check out a copy of The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger, you would use Primo Library Search to determine if Chemeketa Community College library owns a copy.  If you wanted the March 2020 issue of Sports Illustrated, you would use Primo Library Search to determine if the library subscribes to Sports Illustrated and if so, whether or not the March 2020 issue is available to checkout.

Primo Library Search also searches for articles, books and media available in electronic formats in most of the other databases Chemeketa subscribes to. 

Using the Primo Library Search

This short video will show you how to use Library Search to discover books and articles in print and full text online at Chemeketa and many other libraries.

Reading a Library Search Book Result

picture of library search screen result for a book

Print books show "Available" under the description with a library location and a call number. Most of the books that can be checked out are in the General Collection, at the far end of the library. The call number is shown in parentheses after the library location. Use the call number to find the item on the shelf.

Image of Ebook in Primo Library Search with Online Access link

 

 

 

 

Electronic books show "Online access" or "Full text available" under the description. "Online access" is a link that will take you directly to the book. "Full text available" will take you to a link that you can follow to read the book.

Summit

Summit is the system used to request books and other items from 37 college and university libraries in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho. You must be logged into the Primo library search to see Summit links.

Requesting from Summit

​​​​​Image of Primo library search result for a book with Check Holdings option

 

 

 

Any item in the library search results that says Check holdings is a potential Summit Plus physical item request.

  1. Click the Check holdings link.
  2. The Request from Summit Plus link will display if there is at least one copy in a Summit library. (Remember, you won't see it if you're not logged in.)
  3. Click the link to start a request.
  4. Summit will automatically check to see if there is a requestable copy
  5. You will have to choose your home library (Salem or Yamhill campus, Polk Center, or Woodburn Public Library). When the item arrives at the library, we will email you at your college email to inform you.
  6.  If the item has multiple volumes, specify which one you want.
  7. Click the Request button.

      You can check on your your request in your Library Account

Summit request form

Renewing in Summit

You can renew your Summit book by signing into your library account in Primo or from the Library Account button on the library home page. Note: If the item has been requested by a user of the library that has lent it, renewal will be blocked.

Requesting a Chemeketa Item

You can request a book to be delivered to another Chemeketa location or by mail. You must be logged into the Primo Library Search to see the Request link.

When you find your item click the Sign In link and use your regular Chemeketa student login  to see the Request link.

book information screen in Primo showing request link

The information for "Status" will show the avaiability of the item. Click the Request link.

Hold form showing pickup location dropdown menu

Choose your pickup location from the dropdown menu. Delivery to standard pickup locations is free. Home delivery is available for an $8 fee. If you need to change your address, do that first in My Chemeketa and wait a day before requesting.

Click the Request Chemeketa Item button. The screen will show a confirmation message.

For delivery to CCRLS public libraries, please see Having Chemeketa Materials Delivered to a Public Library. You will need your public library card.

Finding Books on the Shelf (Call Numbers)

Picture of call number labelChemeketa Community College library uses the Dewey Decimal System. Every book has a Dewey Decimal call number that's used to keep books organized and to find them on the shelf.  Call numbers group books on the same subject in the same location on the shelf.  For example, all of the books with the 551.21 call number are about volcanoes.  Because there is often more than one book with the same call number, the first letters of the author's last name and additional numbers are included. 

 

The book with the call number above (REF 423.1 Up8) is located in the Reference collection in the call number area 423.1 and the author's last name is Upton.

Information About Ebooks

Chemeketa's library search has many electronic books.  For information about accessing and using e-books, please see About E-Books.

Primo Library Search

Library Search - Find books, ebooks, articles, media, & more

MLA Citations

APA Citations

Chicago Citations

Getting Reference Help

  • E-mail a Question to Reference
  • Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
  • Chat reference: Please use the form below
  • We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.