Behavioral Health: Recommended Websites

Issues indicators of childrens' well-being annually.

Abstracts of books, articles, chapters, and other material on child abuse, child neglect, and child welfare are available. Click on item title to see full pubication information. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Statistics from the Anne E. Casey Foundation.

Includes resources for homeless issues.

Searchable, or allows the user to browse ACF programs by topic.

Resources for professionals and families.

Search community resources by category, key word, or agency name

Find local community services

This database, which is maintained by the Center for Alcohol Studies at Rutgers University, contains more than 80,000 citations to journal articles, books, chapters, and theses on alcoholism, 1960s to 2007. Searchable by author, key word, date, and by pick lists of drug terms, physiological aspects, and social aspects. Searches may be limited by special populations, e.g., college students.

NIAA is part of the National Institutes of Health. Its publications page has free downloads on various aspects of addiction. NIAA ofrece publicaciones en linea sobre drogadiccion y alcoholismo.

A treasury of information and publications.

A directory that allows the user to enter an address, city, or zip code to find behavioral health services. Also includes a list of behavioral health links.

The U.S. agency that provides programs and services for mental health and addiction

Promotes understanding and prevention of suicide and support those who have been affected by it.

A grassroots organization for patients and their families.

PTSDpubs database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) It is produced by the National Center for PTSD Click the Search the PTSDsub database to begin. The basic search screen is straightforward, or click "Advanced" for a form to combine terms.. The first few lines of the abstract appear on the results list. Click on the title of the article to see the full abstract.

Careers magazine for social work students and new graduates. Has additional helpful features.

Jobs in the field of developmental disabilities.

The CDC is the U.S. government site of choice for information about the epidemiology specific diseases. Try the A-Z Index link, at the top of the page, for links to commonly-sought information. A sidebar on the home page also connects users to various topic areas, and a statistics area with an enormous amount of information.

Includes videos, articles, and links to grief resources.