Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECE150 - Research in the History of Education: Finding Articles and Websites

Help in searching for noted figures in the history of early childhood education.

Searching for Articles

The databases listed below have information on subjects relating to education. If you are off campus, you will need your My Chemeketa user name and password to access the articles.

 

Websites

Stumped? Here's Some Help

You should be able to find information on historic figures in education in reference books listed in the Finding Books tab of this guide, and in the reserve books at the circulation desk. Below are listed some "best bets" for finding information in other sources. Periodical database searches for the less famous individuals may be tricky at times, and no search will bring up 100% relevant results. You will need your My Chemeketa user name and password to access the articles from off campus.

picture of Comenius

Comenius

 

In Proquest Central try this search.  The N/10 means find these two words within ten words of each other. You can use the filters on the results page to choose a type of resource, such as scholarly journals.

     comenius n/10 child*

Try this search in Google Scholar:

     +Comenius +child* +education

 

Picture of Erasmus

Erasmus

 

Look up Desiderius Erasmus in the Primo Library Search.

Several of Erasmus's works on education are available in full text on the Internet. Some that pertain to education are Concerning the Aim and Method of Education, and Colloquies of Erasmus. The latter contains the colloquies "The School-master's Admonitions" and "Scholastic Studies". Use the search function of your browser (Ctrl-F) to search within the text.

Look for Erasmus in the Encyclopedia of children and childhood in history and society (REF 305.2303 En1). You might try looking up Erasmus, who is known primarily as a philosopher, in the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy, which is shelved in Reference at the call number REF 100 R76.

Look up Desiderius Erasmus in Proquest Central. Narrow by subject education.

Use Education Full Text. Use two search lines. [line 1] Desiderius Erasmus [line 2] education AND children In the dropdown menu following the second search line, change Select a field to TX All text fields

 

picture of Froebel

 

Froebel

Try the Encyclopedia of education and human development.

In Gale Educator's Reference Complete database, try searching for Froebel and sort results by relevance.

picture of gerber

Gerber

To find books, search for "Magda Gerber" in the Primo Library Search on the library home page. On the page of results you can click Books, Electronic or Books, Printed under Resource Type to limit your results to books.

Journal articles on Gerber are scarce.Try searching for her name with quotation marks ("Magda Gerber") in the Proquest Central database. If you don't find one in one of our education databases, try Google Scholar, an academic version of the search engine. Articles or books with available links are shown at the right side of the results page. You may have to page through the results list a bit. Try adding a term like "mindful parenting" to your search:

"Magda Gerber" mindful parenting

 

Picture of Margaret McMillan Picture of Rachel McMillan

McMillan sisters

Gale Virtual Reference on the database page, has some information about the McMillans. Or try the Spartacus Online Encyclopedia of British History. In the "British Education," section you can find articles about Margaret and Rachel McMillan.

Or try a Google Scholar search on the Web for the following (exactly as printed below):

    +"Margaret McMillan" "early childhood"

In Proquest Central on the database page, search for "Margaret McMillan" AND education.  You can use the filters on the results page to limit to Scholarly Journals, Books, etc.

thumbnail photo of mitchell Lucy Sprague Mitchell

Type her name into the Primo Library Search. Under  Availability , choose Chemeketa Onsite Collection to find an encyclopedia and an Academic Reserve book that talk about her.

On the database page Education Full Text, Academic OneFile, and JSTOR all have articles.

 

picture of pestalozzi

 

Pestalozzi

 

For reference books, try the Encyclopedia of education and human development, or one of the printed reference books listed in the Getting Started tab.

Look in the Primo Library Search look for Johann Heinrich Pestalozzi. You can click on Chemeketa onsite collection to limit to printed books, or choose Books, Electronic under Resource Type.


In Academic OneFile search for "Pestalozzi, Hohann Heinrich" as a keyword, limiting results to full-text articles.

In Proquest Central, search for "Johnann Heinrich Pestalozzi."

     +Comenius +child* +education

Portrait

Pikler

 

If you don't find a printed book, try an electronic one. Our e-books appear in the Primo Library Search. Search for her name with quotation marks around it. You can limit to Books, Electronic under Resource Type in the results.

Journal articles on Pikler are scarce. Try searching for "Emmi Pikler" (with quotation marks) in Proquest Central. If you don't find an article in one of our education databases, try Google Scholar, an academic version of the search engine. Articles or books with available links are shown at the right side of the results page. You may have to page through the results list a bit.

In an Internet search engine, try her name with quotation marks around it.


 

picture of vygotsky

Vygotsky

Tip: The name may be spelled Vygotskii or Vygotsky. Try: "Vygotsk*."

For reference books, try Gale Virtual Reference Library, or one of the printed reference books listed in the Getting Started tab.

For books, use the Primo Library Search on the library home page.

For journal articles, click the "Peer Reviewed Journals" filter in the library search results, or use Education Full Text.