Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Hospital Directory
Look up any acute care hospital in the United States that treats Medicare patients. The on-line directory includes many measurements of hospitals and their performance [including:] Hospital Characteristics; Services Provided; Outpatient Statistics; Financial Reports; Inpatient Utilization; Costs and Charges." Click on "Free Search" to enter the directory.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC is the U.S. government site of choice for information about the epidemiology specific diseases. Try the A-Z Index link, at the top of the page, for links to commonly-sought information. A sidebar on the home page also connects users to various topic areas, and a statistics area with an enormous amount of information.
This resource from Virginia Commonwwalth University is organized into chapters like a textbook. Features original, high quality image accompanied by descriptive text and selectable labels. Each chapter also has interactive quizzes with formative feedback.
The official U.S. Food and Drug Administration site for information about drugs. Searchable or browsable by drug name. In addition to active ingredients and dosage information, the site gives the drug's label and approval process history.
Health Information Privacy (HIPAA)
Includes information on HIPAA, both for individuals and for health professionals. A Department of Health and Human Services site.
Interactive anatomy features images and animations of ten body systems. Anatomy lessons include general anatomy and the skeleton.
Know the Science
A site "to help you better understand complex scientific topics that relate to health research so that you can be discerning about what you hear and read and make well-informed decisions about your health. Know the Science features a variety of materials including interactive modules, quizzes, and videos to provide engaging, straightforward content."
A good source for one-stop shopping on medical topics. It has a large number carefully-selected information sources grouped together. In addition to MEDLINE, (the National Library of Medicine index to medical journals), there are dictionaries, directories, databases, links to clearinghouses, organizations, and libraries. MEDLINEplus en español
: Información en español sobre salud proveniente de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud y otras fuentes de confianza. MEDLINEplus también cuenta con programas interactivos de educación de salud sobre procedimientos quirúrgicos, exámenes y trastornos médicos, y hasta una enciclopedia de salud.
Merck Manual Professional Version
Look for medical topics, symptoms, drugs, and procedures. Also includes news.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
NIAA is part of the National Institutes of Health. Its publications page has free downloads on various aspects of addiction. NIAA
ofrece publicaciones en linea sobre drogadiccion y alcoholismo.
This site, designed by a pharmacist, has information on over three thousand prescription drugs, including a list of the top two hundred drugs prescribed. Searchable by drug name. A description of each drug and its ingredients and information for patients is included. Also includes a searchable medical dictionary.
Codes of Professional Ethics