It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse or search more than 7,000 advertisements that appeared in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911 through 1955. The Timeline feature provides historical context for advertisements.
The materials in this collection are made available for use in research, teaching and private study.
Search or browse by category more than 9,000 advertisements. The Timeline feature provides historical context for ads. The materials in this collection are made available for use in research, teaching and private study.
Click Chronologies to see regions and time periods. You can click a time period to expand it and follow it to see a more detailed chronology illustrated with art from the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
The collection of the Smithsonian American Art Museum can be searched by a variety of criteria. Search results produce a small review image with accompanying identification (title, artist, size, medium, and collection information). Larger, high-resolution images can be called from the review images. Only a portion of the museum's holdings are available online. The site also includes databases and e-mail reference help on American art.
Search Art sites with our customized search:
Search Architecture sites with our customized search tool.
Guides for the various disciplines supported by images in Artstor, including architecture, fashion & costume, decorative arts, photography, and many others. Artstor consultants prepared these guides to visual resources.Each guide lists featured collections, curated image groups, and tips for searching.