LibraryGuides: Art, Visual: Get Started

Welcome! Here Are Some Reference Books You May Find Useful

The Dictionary of Art by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: REF 703 D56
ISBN: 1884446000
Publication Date: 2003
The is the go-to encyclopedia for topics and persons in art and architecture. There is an index in the last volume.
Graphic Communication Dictionary by Daniel J. Lyons (Editor)
Call Number: REF 686.203 L99
ISBN: 0130122262
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
The GATF Encyclopedia of Graphic Communications by Frank Romano; Richard Romano
Call Number: REF 686.203 G11
ISBN: 0883621908
Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: REF 703 M17
Illustrated Dictionary of Ceramics by George Savage; Harold Newman
Call Number: REF 738.03 Sa9
ISBN: 0442273649
Publication Date: 1974
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by Gerald W. R. Ward
Call Number: 702.8 G91 2008
ISBN: 9780195313918
Publication Date: 2008
A Companion to Art Theory by Paul Smith (Editor); Carolyn Wilde (Editor)
ISBN: 9780631207627
Publication Date: 2007
A concise overview of traditional, modern, and postmodern theories of art.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by Ian Chilvers (Editor); Harold Osborne (Editor); Dennis Farr (Editor)
Call Number: REF 703.21 Ox2 1997
ISBN: 0198600844
Publication Date: 1997, 2011
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture by Ernest E. Burden
Call Number: REF 720.03 B89
ISBN: 0070089884
Publication Date: 1998

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.

Email Me

Contact:

Salem, Oregon

503.399.2546