LibraryGuides: Anthropology: Find Articles And Web Sites

Search in Databases

All the electronic databases listed in this section may be accessed by going to the library's Database Page. If you are using databases from off campus, you will need your My Chemeketa user name and password.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Index to approximately 10,000 periodicals covering a wide variety of subject areas, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles. Many are in full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive of journal content. Chemeketa has the archive collections Arts & Sciences I and Arts & Sciences III, comprising about 400 journals. The collections are strong in the humanities.
JSTOR is providing free access to additional collections until June 30, 2023.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes a number of journals in folklore and related fields.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes articles in academic journals, newspapers, and general interest magazines. Click on Databases (4) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within.
How to use

More Indexes

Bibliografía Mesoamericana Index
Bibliografía Mesoamericana, published by the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, "provides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines." The focus is on México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, and El Salvador.
Rock Art Studies Bibliographic Database
A searchable database of articles and other publications from the Museum of Northern Arizona

Web Sites

American Anthropological Association Anthropology Career Resources
Links to sites with anthropology resources
American Folklore Society
Anthropology Tutorials from Dr. Dennis O'Neil
A set of tutorials developed by a faculty member of the Behavioral Sciences Department at Palomar College
Commisceo Global Culture Guides
Guide to etiquette and business culture for numerous countries. Click on the country name in the dropdown menu to find advice on meeting and greeting, gift-giving, dress, public behavior, dining, and business meetings.
Ethnomed
Ethnomed is a site from Harborview Medical Center in Seattle. It focuses on ethnic groups in the Seattle area, giving cultural and community profiles of the following groups: Amharic; Cambodian; Chinese; Eritrean; Ethiopian; Mexican; Oromo; Somali; Tigrean; Vietnamese; Arab; Lao; Mien; Samoan; South Asian; Soviet Jewish; Ukrainian. Although the site is written with health care workers in mind, there is valuable general information on culture and customs, with bibliographies.
Indians and Europeans on the Northwest Coast: Historical Context
History of interaction between Europeans and Native Americans on the Northwest coast, featuring links to documents. A site from the University of Washington's Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
A comprehensive meta-site, with links on art, history, education, health, and many other aspects of Native American life and culture.
National NAGPRA
The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act is a federal law that provides a way for museums and federal agencies to return Native American cultural materials to affiliated descendants or cultural groups. In addition to the pertinent laws and regulations, the site includes maps, databases, and other materials. Under "Special Topics" the user will find information on international repatriation.

Try our customized search.

Getting Reference Help

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.

APA Citations

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: REF 808.02 P96 2020
ISBN: 1433832151
Publication Date: 2020
The official guide to the current (7th) format.

Our APA Pages
Guide gives examples of various electronic resources to which Chemeketa subscribes.
What's this DOI Stuff?
Explains what DOI means and how to use it, with what to do when there isn't one.