Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citations - MLA Style: Citing Periodical Articles from Databases

Resources for MLA (Modern Language Association) style, with examples of how to cite materials from Chemeketa's databases.

Tips

  • For most academic journals, only the year is necessary for the citation of an article.
  • Article titles should have the significant words capitalized.
  • Don't capitalize articles (a, an, the) or prepositions (of, for, etc.).
  • Journal (Magazine, etc.) titles have the main words capitalized and appear in italic type.

Articles from Most Databases

Magazine Articles (examples)

        Example from one of the Gale databases:

Thurston, Peter. "Conflict Along the Amazon." Time, vol. 97, 

      no. 1,  12 Apr. 2007, pp. 32-33. General OneFile,  go

     .galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=ITOF&u=oregon_chemeke

      &authCount=1

        Example from CQ Researcher:

Jost, Kenneth. "Sentencing Debates." The CQ Researcher, vol. 

      14, no. 49, 5 Nov. 2004, pp. 925-948. CQ Researcher, 

      library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher./cqresrre2004110500.

Note: In CQ Researcher, you can find the appropriate information for citing an article by clicking the "CiteNow!" link, then clicking on "MLA Style" in the resulting popup window.

Journal Articles (examples)

Give the volume and issue number. Only the year is needed for the article date.

Give the DOI rather than the URL, if available. Examples:

Fredericks, Samuel. "Cognitive Ergonomics and Desk 

      Design." Journal of Ergonomic Research, vol. 25 no.3, 

      2008, pp. 535-541. Business Economics & Theory.  chemeketa

      .idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com

      /ps/i.do?p=PPBE&sw=w&u=oregon_chemeke&v=2.1&it=r

      &id=GALE%7CA80576182&asid

      =f9b2c5bfd014cbc094792d0185b987
McMaster, Kristen L., et. al., "Peer-Assisted Learning  

      Strategies: A 'Tier 1' Approach to Promoting 

      English Learners' Response to Intervention." 

      Exceptional Children, vol. 74 no.2, 2008, pp. 

      194-214. Education Full Text.  

      doi: 10.1177/001440290807400204.
Brausch, Amy M., and Jennifer J. Muehlenkamp. "Body Image  

     and Suicidal Ideation in Adolescents." Body Image, vol. 

     4 no.2, 2007, pp. 207-212. ScienceDirect Health and 

     Life Sciences Collection, doi: 2048/10.1016/S2007-

     1523(14)72005-1.

Newspaper Articles (examples)

Article in Proquest News Databases

Pollack, Andrew. "In Midwest, Flutters may be Far Fewer." 

      New York Times, Jul 12, 2011. ProQuest,

      search.proquest.com/docview/875910883?accountid=136425.

The Same Article on the New York Times Web Site

Pollack, Andrew.  "In Midwest, Flutters May Be Far Fewer."  

      The New York Times, 11 July 2011. The New 

      York Times, http://nyti.ms/1Hm7hOl

Article on Infotrac Newsstand, a Gale Database

Joyeuse, Elizabeth. "Headache Cures." Toronto Star, 31 Jan. 

       2006, p. A24. Infotrac Newsstand, infotrac.galegroup

      .com/itweb/oregon_chemeke?db=STND.

Articles from Literature Resource Center

Articles reprinted in Gale reference books

picture of citation information from literature resource center, showing the abbreviation Rpt.

These reprints can be recognized by the statement that begins "Rpt. in" underneath other citation information:

Palmer, James W. "From Owl Creek to La Riviere du Hibou: The 

      Film Adaptation of Bierce's 'An Occurrence at Owl Creek  

      Bridge'." Southern Humanities Review, vol. 11 no.4, 

      1977, pp. 363-71. Short Story Criticism, vol. 72. 
      
      Edited by Joseph Palmisano. Gale, 2004. Literature 

      Resource Center. chemeketa.idm.oclc.org

      /login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=LitRC

      &sw=w&u=oregon_chemeke&v=2.1&it=r

      &id=GALE%7CH1420058856&asid

      =c6be4503e408c230da3305ab84f03d31

Articles taken directly from journals

Journal articles show the title of the journal followed by a volume and issue number, with a date in parentheses. There is no "Rpt." statement:

Samide, Daniel E. "Anatomy of a Classic: Ambrose Bierce 
 
      Cleverly Used Some Key Literary Tools in Crafting His 
      
      Civil War Tale 'An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge.'"
      
      The Writer vol. 118 no.5, 2005, p. 42. Literature 
      
      Resource Center. chemeketa.idm.oclc.org

      /login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=LitRC&sw=w

      &u=oregon_chemeke&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CA137015892

      &asid=7ac69d721a0de4370ffe2e90b7c4b768