ChatGPT and other large language models produce text that can be inaccurate, incomplete, outdated, and fake. A chatbot's conversational and authoritative response to your specific request might create a false sense of relevance and accuracy. You must consider the credibility of information generated by text generators.
All of the ChatGPT examples below were created using GTP version 3.5.
One of the most troublesome issues with ChatGPT is that it can create citations for sources that do not exist. Using fake sources in school or on the job can have serious consequences. If a ChatGPT response includes sources, you must confirm whether or not those sources are real.
ChatGPT Prompt: Write an annotated bibliography for a college writing class on the research topic of solar power
In this ChatGPT response, all of the sources listed are described in the annotations as books. Notice that all of the information necessary to accurately cite and locate a book is incomplete. For example, the publisher is missing. That's an important bit of information when trying to find and verify the existence of a source.
To confirm whether or not a source is real, search in Primo Library Search, Google, Google Scholar, Worldcat, and even Amazon. Try searching for the title of the source in quotation marks first and then add additional details such as the author's name.
Be careful. You might find a source that is similar but not the same. For example, searching for "The Promise and Challenges of Solar Energy: A Comprehensive Review" written by J. Smith was not found with Google or Primo Library Search. Google Scholar found the article "Promises and Challenges of Perovskite Solar Cells: A Comprehensive Review." Compare the two carefully. The title and author do not match. They are not the same article.
Text generators like ChatGPT cannot search within library databases. Scholarly sources like peer-reviewd journal articles are often only available through library databases and ChatGPT is aware of that limitation.
ChatGPT Prompt: Find five scholarly journal articles about climate refugees.
ChatGPT Response: "I don't have the ability to browse the internet or access real-time databases to find specific scholarly articles. However, I can guide you on how to search for scholarly articles on climate refugees."
ChatGPT recommends that you use article databases like JSTOR instead. JSTOR and many other library databases can be found on the Library Database page.
ChatGPT Prompt: write a simple explanation of how to check content from chatgpt for credibility
ChatGPT Response: Certainly! To check the credibility of content from ChatGPT, you can follow these steps:
Cross-Verification: Cross-check the information provided by ChatGPT with reliable and well-established sources. Look for the same information in reputable news articles, books, or official documents.
Multiple Sources: Verify the information from multiple sources. If the details align across various trustworthy outlets, it adds credibility to the information.
Fact-Checking Websites: Use fact-checking websites to verify specific claims or statements. Websites like Snopes, FactCheck.org, or PolitiFact can help determine the accuracy of information.
Critical Thinking: Apply critical thinking to the content. Check if the information is logical, consistent, and supported by evidence. Be cautious of sensational or unverifiable claims.
Authorship and Credentials: Consider the authorship of the content. If available, check the credentials and expertise of the author. Reliable information often comes from credible and knowledgeable sources.
Publication Date: Check the publication date of the information. Outdated information may no longer be accurate, especially in rapidly changing situations.
Bias Awareness: Be aware of potential biases in the information. Consider the perspective of the source and whether it might influence the objectivity of the content.
Corroboration: If possible, corroborate the information with experts or professionals in the field. Their insights can provide additional context and validation.
Remember, while ChatGPT aims to provide helpful and accurate information, it's always advisable to verify critical information independently for important decisions or sensitive topics.