Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choosing a Database by Discipline or Subject
Article Database Page
Choose the Subjects dropdown list to filter your subject to an area of interest, e.g., Education
General Article Search
You can search for articles in our Primo Library Search
Choose a general article database search, such as
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central searches for articles in more than forty subject area databases that include Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities content. Click on Databases (4)
to select specific databases or subject areas to search within. br>
How to use
Getting Reference Help
- E-mail a Question to Reference
- Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
- Chat reference: Please use the form below
- We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.
Checking for Full Text in Library Databases
Most databases include links to full text for at least some of their articles. If there is no full text in the database where you're searching, you can usually use a link to check for full text in a different database.
- Many article databases have a button or link that says "Check for full text."
- Google Scholar uses a Fulltext@Chemeketa link.
- When the database does not have the full text of the article, the Check for full text function lets you use the library's link resolver service to try to find the full text in one of our other databases.
For example, you use the Check for full text function to find the article "Who cares who killed Edwin Drood? Or, on the whole, I'd rather be in Philadelphia."
- The Top section of the page has a description of the item
- The Send to section lets you save or share the record
- The View section has information about electronic access
- The Get it section has information about print access or interlibrary loan (You must be logged in to see interlibrary loan link.)
► If the full text is available electronically, there will be links to one or more databases that have the article. Click on the database title to view the article. If you are off campus, you will have to log in with your My Chemeketa user name and password.
► If the article is not available electronically, you can click the Sign in link and log in with your My Chemeketa user name and password to request that we obtain a copy from another library for you. We do not charge for this service, which is called interlibrary loan. For more information,see Requesting Materials from Other Libraries.
There is a link to send a message to the reference librarian if you have difficulty connecting to the article. Here is a list of troubleshooting tips that may be useful.