It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library databases that are especially helpful for Biology and Life Sciences topics are listed below. Example searches with explanations of search techniques are included. These are just examples. You may use different keyword terms and search techniques for your specific research topic.
JSTOR is a digital archive of journal content. Chemeketa has the archive collections Arts & Sciences I and Arts & Sciences III, comprising about 400 journals. The collections are strong in the humanities.
ScienceDirect includes both the Health & Life Sciences and the Social & Behavioral Sciences collections. These collections offer access to full text of almost 2,000 journals relating to life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences broadly interpreted, including environmental science, agriculture, genetics, psychology, economics, human/computer interaction, and communication.
Boolean operators in Science Direct are AND, OR, and AND NOT. For example: slugs AND NOT soybeans.
ProQuest Central searches for articles in more than forty subject area databases that include Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities content. Click on Databases (4) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within. br> How to use
Index to approximately 10,000 periodicals covering a wide variety of subject areas, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles. Many are in full text. Includes full text of the New York Times from 1985. How to Use
Use this search to look for journals in a subject area. For articles in journals use a journal database.
What's a Library Database? - Video
This video briefly and clearly explains what a journal article is and why we use library databases to find journal articles on a topic.