Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Look for E-Books by Topic
Here are a few lists of books by period, plus books on Christian iconography. The Find Books page (see tabs) will give you suggestions for to searching in more depth.
Most lists include books that can be requested through Summit
Symbols in Art
The Dent Dictionary of Symbols in Christian Art by
Call Number: REF 704.9482 Sp3
Publication Date: 1994
Includes fewer personal names, but more scenes and symbols, than the The Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by
Call Number: REF 704.903 H14
Publication Date: 2007
Has few illustrations, but contains the most information about traditional scenes such as the Deposition.
Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art by
Call Number: REF 704.946 C23
Publication Date: 1995
Gives treatment not only of visual symbols, e.g., dice, but of persons and scenes frequently pictured, such as Gabriel. Coverage is selective.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by
Call Number: REF 704.903 En1
Publication Date: 1998
Articles on themes and situations expressed in art, e.g., Light, Grieving/Lamentation, Shepherds, etc.
How to Read Bible Stories and Myths in Art by
Call Number: 704.947 R99 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art by
Call Number: REF 704.946 H14
Publication Date: 1994
This is actually a visual dictionary, divided into thematic chapters, e.g., "Animals," with line drawings of each subject glossing the text. There is also a chapter on collectives, e.g., The Four Prophets, and an index.
The Dictionary of Art is a great place to start. It is available in print only in the library on the Salem Campus.
The Dictionary of Art by
Call Number: REF 703 D56
Publication Date: 2003
The is the go-to encyclopedia for topics and persons in art and architecture. There is an index in the last volume.
General Art Reference Books
Larousse Encyclopedia of Byzantine and Medieval Art by
Call Number: REF 709.02 H98
Publication Date: 1963
Illustrated Dictionary of Art Terms by
Call Number: REF 703.21 R33
Publication Date: 1984
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by
Call Number: REF 703.21 Ox2 1997
Publication Date: 1997, 2011
Saint Barbara. North French. Painted & gilt limestone Courtesy of the Metropolitan Museum of Art under a Creative Commons Zero (public domain) license.
Getting Reference Help
- E-mail a Question to Reference
- Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
- Chat reference: Please use the form below
- We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.