Skip to main content

Finding Journals in a Field: Option 2. Library Search

Finding Journals with Library Search

Library Search is used to find books, articles and media available at Chemeketa and other libraries that Chemeketa shares materials with. It can be used to search for journals both in print and online.  

1. Do a keyword search. You can add "journal" to the search, but you may be excluding journals that don't use Journal in the name of the publication. 

2. Limit your results. Depending on your results, you may have the option to Refine My Results to Journals and Yearly Publications. If you have this option, use it. If not, try another search. 

3. Make a choice on the results list.  A journal name will often - but not always - begin with "The Journal of..." or some variation on that.  Not every title on the results list is a journal, so you may have to try more than one.  Click on the name of a publication for more  information. 

4. Click on View It.  A box should pop up with the name of at least one database where full text for that journal is available. Some examples of databases you may see listed are Gale Cengage Academic OneFileElsevier Science Direct Health and Life Sciences Collection and DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals

5. Click on the name of a database. From off campus you will be prompted to enter your My Chemeketa username and password. DOAJ is an exception; because it is open access, it does not require login. 

6. Read the publication description page.  This page will vary depending on the database you are in. Take some time to read the page looking for indications that the publication is scholarly.  If it is described as a trade publication or popular magazine, it is not a scholarly journal. 

7. Choose a full text article from a journal. Not all journals provide online full text access to articles. The publication description page should tell you whether or not full text articles are available.  

Chemeketa Community College Library | library.chemeketa.edu | 503.399.5231 | E-mail Reference Librarians