Donna Bernhisel (YVC), Sara Dennison, Matthew Hodgson, Karl Meiner (Woodburn), Jill Rupert (workgroup lead), Theresa Yancey, and Michele Burke
WR 121 ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY ASSIGNMENT
I. First, identify the question you are exploring (sometimes called the question at issue). (You need state this question only once, at the head of your first page. It should apply to all your sources.) Your eventual claim or thesis statement will be the answer to this question.
II. Then, for at least FOUR sources, complete the following. One of your sources MUST be a scholarly source; the others can be serious popular sources. Most of your sources should be accessed through the library.
Write both a correct MLA and a correct APA citation (entries for a Works Cited page and a Reference list).
Remember that citations from databases are often not correct; they need to be checked against the most recent [MLA 8th edition and APA 6th edition] guidelines in The Chemeketa Handbook and modified to match the appropriate models.
2. Retrieval of Information Write one paragraph that includes discussion of the following:
The type of source (For example, is it a book, magazine article, newspaper article, website from a reputable organization, or an academic publisher? Is it a reference work, serious popular source, or peer-reviewed scholarly source? If it is a scholarly source, from which section/s of the source was the information found?)
Reasons it appears to be this type of source
How and where the source was located (For example, was it found through a library search, library database, or general internet search?)*
*For a book, note whether it is an eBook or print copy and cite accordingly. For a database source, give the name of the database. (NOTE: Gale PowerSearch is NOT a database name). For an Internet source, give the name of the website.
3. Quality of Information Write one paragraph that includes discussion of the following:
Authority and credentials of the author(s)
Currency of the source
Reliability of information
4. Application of Information Based on reading each source, write two paragraphs that include the following:
a. A brief summary of the information contained in the source that is useful to the specific research
b. An explanation of how the source’s information specifically relates to the research question.
III. Last, using the information you have gathered from annotating these sources, revise and narrow your original research question.
Department of Liberal Arts & Social Studies | English Program
WR 121 Assessment: Annotated Bibliography Assignment
1. Does this AB use at least one scholarly source? Use the comment section to state the number of scholarly sources used.
2. In this AB, are sources other than the scholarly source serious popular sources?
3. Does this AB correctly and consistently use both required documentation styles (MLA or APA)?
Does Not Meet (F)
No Basis to Evaluate = did not attempt
Identifies and differentiates the kinds of sources used
Evaluates information and its source critically
Demonstrates understanding of how information from different sources might contribute to project and its argument
Meets objectives of this assignment overall
* Denotes State of Oregon AAOT Writing and Information Literacy Outcomes
In WR 121, students practice navigating research landscapes where they encounter a variety of sources using the online library and other types of internet searching. Students learn how to distinguish between popular and scholarly sources, and how to choose credible sources to integrate into their own writing. While scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles are discussed, the focus is on choosing credible sources that compliment but do not overwhelm the student's voice. Students are encouraged to be very choosey about what they use in their own work, and they will practice integrating source material with eloquence and integrity. All sources will be cited.
Explore databases by choosing from the Database List or by doing a full Library Search to discover articles and eBooks.
WR 121 Course Outcomes: Research and Documentation
Focus: Source Evaluation
Popular and Scholarly Activity
You might also like How to Evaluate Sources.
Dear WR 121 Instructors,
Earlier this term you received the revised mandatory Annotated Bibliography assignment from us. We are now sending the next part of that project, a rubric with which to assess that assignment.
The attached “assessment rubric” will be required beginning Spring Term 2017. You will complete it for each student in your WR 121 classes, keep hard copies of each rubric (to submit to WR 121 Workgroup and use for future norming), and report the aggregated results through a Google form survey (linked here) at the end of the term. (You may remember the “drop-down” surveys we did last academic year to assess how many students met course outcomes. The Google form survey updates that tool to more closely assess the Annotated Bibliography).
You will notice that this assessment rubric is a revised version of the rubric we used during our group norming session during the Fall 2016 Inservice. We have updated and defined the terms for evaluating specific aspects of each annotated bib. Completing this rubric, keeping the copies, and filling out the follow-up survey is mandatory for assessment purposes starting Spring 2017. If you choose, you may also use the rubric to grade your annotated bib assignments, but that is not required. We recognize that your grading scheme may differ from our program-wide assessment.
The WR 121 Workgroup will complete this rubric and the survey at the end of this term as a pilot. If you would like to join this endeavor, please let us know and we will help you opt in!
During our Fall 2017 Inservice meeting, we will discuss this assignment and examine the results of this assessment.
We welcome your feedback and questions.
The WR 121 Workgroup (Donna Bernhisel, Michele Burke, Sara Dennison, Matthew Hodgson, Karl Meiner, Jill Rupert, and Theresa Yancey)
Winter 2017: receive revised AB and assessment rubric; optional participation in assessment survey
Spring 2017 and after: mandatory AB assignment, assessment rubric, and survey
Fall 2017 Inservice: mandatory meeting on these endeavors
Mandatory Annotated Bibliography Assignment
Mandatory AB Assessment Rubric
Link to WR 121 Annotated Bibliography Survey: https://goo.gl/forms/c
March 6, 2017, 3:00-5:00 pm, Library 9/240, Writing 121 Workgroup Meeting
In attendance: Jill, Matthew, Sara, Donna, Theresa, Michele, (Matt B. joined 4:15ish)
Discussion of use of required text in WR 121 classes
Review and finalize WR 121 end-of-term survey
Next steps and communicating with WR 121 instructors
Discussion of use of required text in WR 121 classes
The WR 121 workgroup discussed concern around an instructor who does not use the required text. Group reviewed the required text policy and identified follow-up questions-
Does instructor know the required text is the Humble Argument?
If so, which parts of the text are troublesome? Feedback on the text is appreciated and encouraged.
Is instructor aware that the Humble Argument is relatively affordable?
Action Item: Jill will contact the instructor, review policy, and answer questions
Review and finalize WR 121 end-of-term survey
Theresa revised the WR 121 end-of- term so that survey questions focus on the elements identified in the WR 121 Annotated Bib rubric.
Theresa displayed an online version of the revised survey on the 9/240 computers so the group could see updates immediately. The group refined the survey with Theresa updating the draft in real time so group could suggest and approve revisions immediately. Significant changes were made in coding the questions, section headings, and wording for consistency. Group agrees on importance of including specific questions about why students fail, plagiarism, and library instruction.
Action: Survey finalized
[Matt. B. joins meeting]
Next steps for communicating with WR 121 instructors
After approving the survey, the group agreed that Jill will draft the message to WR 121 instructors. The message will include the final rubric as an attachment, the annotated bib assignment as an attachment, and a link to the end-of-term survey (i.e., a link to the Google form), and instructions for use.
The message will describe the use of the rubric and survey:
The rubric will be used to assess the annotated bibs
The WR 121 group recommends that the instructor complete one rubric for each annotated bib
The WR 121 group points out that completing one rubric per bib will make it easier for the instructor to report class results on the end-of-term survey
Completing the end-of-term survey will be opt-in for Winter term 2017
Completing the end-of-term survey will be mandatory for Spring term 2017 and forward until further notice
The message to WR 121 instructors with the rubric, annotated bib assignment, and survey link should go to all WR 121 instructors in all locations, all modes (e.g., face-to-face at any campus or outreach center, online, evening and weekend, and College Credit Now).
The group agrees that use of the annotated bib, rubric, and end-of-term survey created in the meeting should move forward now and not be postponed while eLearn capability is explored and developed.
The group recognizes that having the rubric embedded in eLearn, perhaps as part of a grade book, will be helpful for gathering data. However, the group feels strongly that the Google Form version of the survey should be used now and updated with an eLearn version only after the eLearn version is available and tested.
The group agreed that Theresa would work with the Hub, perhaps with Mark, on an eLearn version of the survey. ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
February 15, 2017 Update Meeting
Present: Jill Rupert, Theresa Yancey, Sara Dennison, Matt Blankenship, Don Braise, Natalie Beach, and Michele Burke.
Meeting intent: Discuss goals and action on WR 121 assessment.
Notes From Michele Burke and Jill Rupert:
As part of the college-wide focus on assessment, we discussed the assessment of our common assignment for WR 121, the Annotated Bibliography. We spent time norming our scoring of the assignment and discussing how both the assignment and rubric might be improved.
Here are two important considerations for WR 121 instructors as you begin fall term:
1. The Annotated Bibliography assignment is required in every section of WR 121. It should be used during the second half of the term as a prewriting activity for the final researched essay. A copy of the assignment is attached and should be used as is so that we truly have an assignment in common. Please contact any WR 121 Workgroup member if you have questions or want help with teaching suggestions.
2. Monday, Oct. 24, 3:30pm (location TBD) will be our next WR 121 meeting to work on revisions to the assessment rubric for the Annotated Bibliography assignment. Everyone is invited, and while this is a paid meeting, we understand that not everyone will be able to attend.
Additional notes for workgroup:
For fall we are using the same assignment. We will work to revise the assignment and develop a rubric this term. We'll distribute it winter, and collect ABs to assess in spring.
September 21, 2017 Norming with WR 121 Instructors
Fall Meeting with Mary Ellen Scofield in Preparation for September 21, 2017 Inservice Norming with WR 121 Instructors.
Our objectives for the WR 121 assessment meeting on September 21, 2017 are as follows:
Our objectives for the workgroup this year are as follows: