Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current Events and Debatable Topics Databases
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central searches for articles in more than forty subject area databases that include Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities content. Click on Databases (4)
to select specific databases or subject areas to search within. br>
How to use
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS includes articles, primary sources, websites, and multimedia covering a variety of viewpoints and current controversial topics.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable full-text access to the US, International, Spanish and Chinese editions of the New York Times Newspaper. For full text access, you must create a personal account. Personal accounts also provide access to New York Times in Education at http://nytimesineducation.com. Video tutorial and written instructions for setting up an account- Creating a New York Times Account
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on current and controversial topics. Includes background information useful for topic exploration. How to Use
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Background information, statistics, court case overviews, and viewpoint articles on current and controversial issues.
Getting Reference Help
- E-mail a Question to Reference
- Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
- Chat reference: Please use the form below
- We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.