Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When Should I Use a Database?
Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:
- Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walking dead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
- Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
- Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in Primo Library Search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search
Databases to Use
CINAHL [EBSCOhost] (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Indexing for over 1,200 nursing and allied health periodicals including fire science, emergency medicine, and biomedicine.
How to Use
Medline via Pubmed This link opens in a new window
The largest database of medicine- and dentistry- related abstracts, produced by the National Library of Medicine.
How to Use
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central searches for articles in more than forty subject area databases that include Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities content. Click on Databases (4)
to select specific databases or subject areas to search within. br>
How to use
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Tip: To limit results to full text, check off Subscribed publications and Open Access articles before clicking the Search button.