Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indigenous History of Oregon
Pacific University Guide by Eva Guggemos
A National Archives site that has activities for the study and teaching of Native American History. A dropdown list connects the user to primary sources.
Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
A comprehensive meta-site, with links on art, history, education, health, and many other aspects of Native American life and culture.
Indian Removal Act
This Library of Congress site has links to primary sources.
The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act is a federal law that provides a way for museums and federal agencies to return Native American cultural materials to affiliated descendants or cultural groups. In addition to the pertinent laws and regulations, the site includes maps, databases, and other materials. Under "Special Topics" the user will find information on international repatriation.
Native Land Digital
Site with contributions from various organizations maps the boundaries of various native peoples
A searchable site with links to information about indigenous peoples around the world. Includes many Native American sites.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
Digital collection of documents and photographs from the University of Washington
Tribal Connections Federal and Indian Lands and Land Cessions Viewer
The U.S. map is divided into areas. Clicking on the numbered label gives information about that land.
"The U.S. Forest Service Tribal Connections Viewer is designed to illustrate the relationship between lands administered by the Forest Service, Indian lands and lands ceded to the United States as documented in the 67 maps from 'Indian Land Cessions in the United States,' compiled by Charles C. Royce and published as the second part of the two-part Eighteenth Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, 1896-1897."
Use Databases to Find Articles in Journals
You may find it helpful to click on Advanced Search On the JSTOR home page.
On the Advanced Search page, if you check off Article under Item Type this will eliminate book reviews from your search results.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Call Number: REF 808.027 Un37 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The Chicago Manual is a comprehensive publication guide and can be a little confusing. For an easier-to-digest version for students, try Turabian
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
Call Number: REF 808.02 T87 2013
Publication Date: 2013