Skip to Main Content

African American Studies: Reference by Topic

Regional

African Americans in the West by Douglas Flamming
ISBN: 9781598840025
Publication Date: 2009

Maps

Atlas of African-American History by James Ciment
Call Number: REF 973.0496 C49
ISBN: 0816037000
Publication Date: 2001
Historical and Cultural Atlas of African Americans by Molefi Kete Asante; Mark T. Mattson
Call Number: REF 973.0496073 As1
ISBN: 0028970217
Publication Date: 1991

Slavery and Antislavery

Slavery in America by Orville Vernon Burton
ISBN: 9781414430133
Publication Date: 2007-12-05
A historical encyclopedia
Slavery in the United States by Junius P. Rodriguez (Editor)
Call Number: REF 306.36209703 SL1 2007
ISBN: 9781851095445
Publication Date: 2007
The Underground Railroad by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
ISBN: 9780765680938
Publication Date: 2007-12-13
A historical encyclopedia
The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia by Cynthia Clark
ISBN: 9781598844610
Publication Date: 2011
An encyclopedia of the economic history of the united states.

Culture

African American Culture by Omari L. Dyson; J. L. Jeffries; Kevin L. Brooks
ISBN: 9781440862434
Publication Date: 2020

Racism

A State-By-State History of Race and Racism in the United States [2 Volumes] by Patricia Reid-Merritt (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440856006
Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Richard T. Schaefer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412926942
Publication Date: 2008-03-20
Includes descriptions of ethnic groups in the United States
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by John H. Moore
ISBN: 9780028660202
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States by Pyong Gap Min
Call Number: REF 305.80097303 En1
ISBN: 0313326886
Publication Date: 2005
The World of Jim Crow America [2 Volumes] by Steven A. Reich (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440850806
Publication Date: 2019

Biographical Reference

Biographical Dictionaries

Civil Rights

Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights by Charles D. Lowery (Editor); John F. Marszalek (Editor)
Call Number: REF 305.896073 En17
ISBN: 0313250111
Publication Date: 1992
Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement by Ralph E. Luker
Call Number: REF 323.1196073 L963
ISBN: 0810831635
Publication Date: 1996
Race Relations in the United States [Five Volumes] by Leslie Vincent Tischauser
Call Number: REF 305.800973 R11
ISBN: 9780313337178
Publication Date: 2008

Civil Rights Digital Library
Free online access to historical materials documenting the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. The Digital Library of Georgia is host to the collaborative project.