Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Databases to Find Articles in Journals
Getting Reference Help
- E-mail a Question to Reference
- Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
- Chat reference: Please use the form below
- We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.
When Should I Use a Database?
Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:
- Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walking dead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
- Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
- Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in Primo Library Search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search
Cross-Database Library Search
Library Search - Find books, ebooks, articles, media, & more
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Call Number: REF 808.027 Un37 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The Chicago Manual is a comprehensive publication guide and can be a little confusing. For an easier-to-digest version for students, try Turabian
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
Call Number: REF 808.02 T87 2013
Publication Date: 2013