It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SOC210 - Resources for the Study of the Family: Finding Articles
Libraries subscribe to article databases to give users access to articles in magazines, newspapers and academic journals. The vast majority of the articles in databases are not available for free. Chemeketa Community College subscribes to dozens of article databases. Some databases are generally good places to start, while others focus on articles in a specific subject area like art, science or controversial topics.
ScienceDirect includes both the Health & Life Sciences and the Social & Behavioral Sciences collections. These collections offer access to full text of almost 2,000 journals relating to life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences broadly interpreted, including environmental science, agriculture, genetics, psychology, economics, human/computer interaction, and communication.
Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:
Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walkingdead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in Primo Library Search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search
Use this search to look for journals in a subject area. For articles in journals use a journal database.