Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding More Information About Companies
Beyond the most basic name and address information, what do you need to know to evaluate whether you would wish to work for an employer? Here are some things you might want to consider:
- Number of employees (The more employees, the more openings)
- Geographical location's climate, cost of living, etc. (Can you ski? How much will a house cost?)
- Length of time in business (Is this a stable company?)
- Financial standing (Will this company still be around in six months?)
- Compensation and benefits
Not all of these things are available from the same source; for some companies certain information may not be available at all. Many directories include information on the number of employees, years in business, annual sales, and/or credit rating.
Using Magazines and Newspapers
If you are seriously considering whether you want to work for a company, you will want to find more information than you will find in a directory. Some directories will lead you to the Web site of a company. Another way to find information is to search for newspaper and magazine articles about the company.
The library Database Page has a number of resources you can use, including those below. If using these databases from off campus, you will need your My Chemeketa user name and password.
ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, economics, management, accounting, finance, and related topics.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Business news, journal articles, company histories, market reports, company profiles, business case studies, and industry information. Includes indexing to the Wall Street Journal (latest two years) and Oregon Business Magazine (1985-present).
In Business Insights: Global type the company name in the quick search space near the top of the page. Articles from thousands of business journals, many in full text. Also contains detailed company information including directory information and company histories. Publication types (magazine, academic journal, news, and trade journals) are linked under Company Information.
Oregonian Collection This link opens in a new window
Print version text available from 1987 through current. Web version text available from 2012 through current.
Statesman Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles published in Salem, Oregon's local newspaper from 1999 through present.
U.S. Public companies file annual reports with the Securities and Exchange Commission. These reports can be accessed on EDGAR, the SEC database.
- Put in the name of the company you are seeking. When you press the Enter key, a list of forms for the company will appear, in reverse chronological order.
- Look for the form number "10-K" in the left hand column. This will be the annual report, with substantial information about the company.
Career Exploration and Job Search Databases
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this online guide career exploration is a great place to start. The library also has a copy in print in the Reference collection at the call number REF 331.702 Un3.
America's Career Info Net
An excellent information source from the Department of Labor. Click on "Occupation Information" to search in the Occupation Profile for an occupation. The resulting reports will include both national information and that for your chosen state. Rankings for all states are available. Links take you to other types of occupational information, such as skills, education needed, industry trends, and other information on the Web. Includes RealPlayer video descriptions of jobs
OLMIS Occupation Information
Career information tailored to the state of Oregon. Type in a job title or browse job titles by category to find information on occupations, including job description, wages, outlook, skills, current job openings, educational requirements, sources of training, and links to occupations with similar skills. The parent site, OLMIS, also has lots of additional information on careers, employment, and industry outlook in Oregon.
OregonLive Jobs Search
OregonLive is the online version of The Oregonian newspaper.
Jobs search section of the Statesman Journal.
Oregon Business publishes "100 Best Employer" lists annually.
International Directory of Company Histories
Call Number: R 338.74 In82
This directory includes detailed histories of hundreds of companies and is a great place to start. This resource is available online in Business Insights: Global under the Companies > Company Histories tab.
Workers Compensation Claims
If your proposed job involves moving to another area of the country, try consulting Homefair. Homefair has calculators and information for those who are considering a move, including, a salary calculator to compute the cost-of-living differences among hundreds of U.S. and international cities; a moving calculator to compute the cost of shipping household goods; and reports on cities and schools.