LibraryGuides: Religion: Find Articles & Web Sites

Use Databases to Find Articles

Gale In Context: College
Magazines, newspapers, journals, critical essays, vocational and technical periodicals, biographies, video, images, audio, and primary source documents.
JSTOR
Includes Artstor images. JSTOR is an article archive. It does not include current articles. The collection includes Open Access, and Archival & Primary Source collections.
ProQuest Central
Includes articles in academic journals, newspapers, and general interest magazines. Click on Databases (4) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within.
How to use ProQuest

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.

Bullfinch's Mythology
The text of Bullfinch's Mythology, with modern annotations, selections of relevant poetry, and links to related documents on the Web. In three parts: "The Age Of Fable," which covers Greek and Roman mythology; "The Age Of Chivalry," which covers legends of King Arthur; and "Legends of Charlemagne."
Catholic Encyclopedia
Covers both religious and non-religious topics.
Encyclopedia Mythica
The Encyclopedia Mythica, founded in 1995, is an online source for information about "mythology, folklore, legends, and more. It contains over 6100 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world."
Virtual Religion Index
A meta-site for information on religion, maintained by the Rutgers University Religion Department.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: 808.02 G35 2021 and at Reference Desk
ISBN: 9781603293532
Publication Date: 2021
This is the official guide. The online version makes it easy to find the advice and examples you need.

More MLA Help
Examples of MLA citations for items in Chemeketa electronic databases; links to complete MLA guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: REF 808.02 P96 2020
ISBN: 1433832151
Publication Date: 2020
The official guide to the current (7th) format.

Our APA Pages
Guide gives examples of various electronic resources to which Chemeketa subscribes.
What's this DOI Stuff?
Explains what DOI means and how to use it, with what to do when there isn't one.