LibraryGuides: Pharmacy: Find Articles & Web Sites

Use Databases to Find Articles

Medline via Pubmed This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive database

Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine
Formerly Health Reference Center Academic. Index to over 1200 periodicals, many in full text, covering a variety of medical fields. Also includes dictionary and medical encyclopedia articles, as well as drug information and patient education material. Many journals are peer-reviewed.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes articles in academic journals, newspapers, and general interest magazines. Click on Databases (4) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within.
How to use ProQuest
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers many current pharmacy-related journals; keyword search only
Access limited to journals in the Health & Life Sciences and the Social & Behavioral Sciences collections.
American Chemical Society - Selected Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to web editions of C&EN Global Enterprise and Journal of Chemical Education from 1996 through current issues.

When Should I Use a Database?

Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:

Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walking dead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in Primo Library Search, for technical reasons; some articles from Education Resource Complete and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), many newspapers (including The Oregonian), most images, and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search

APA Citations

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: REF 808.02 P96 2020
ISBN: 1433832151
Publication Date: 2020
The official guide to the current (7th) format.

Our APA Pages
Guide gives examples of various electronic resources to which Chemeketa subscribes.
What's this DOI Stuff?
Explains what DOI means and how to use it, with what to do when there isn't one.

Web Sites

AHSP: American Society of Health System Pharmacists
Accreditation body for Chemeketa.
Drugs@FDA
The official U.S. Food and Drug Administration site for information about drugs. Searchable or browsable by drug name. In addition to active ingredients and dosage information, the site gives the drug's label and approval process history.
Merck Manual Professional Version
Look for medical topics, symptoms, drugs, and procedures. Also includes news.
Pharmacy Times
Monthly pharmacy publication. Includes information for students.
PTCB: Pharmacy Technician Certification Board
Credentialing organization for pharmacy technicians
RxList.com
This site, designed by a pharmacist, has information on over three thousand prescription drugs, including a list of the top two hundred drugs prescribed. Searchable by drug name. A description of each drug and its ingredients and information for patients is included. Also includes a searchable medical dictionary.