Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Databases to Find Articles
Mathematics Archive (arXiv)
Abstract & full-text database of technical papers on mathematics subjects. To view abstract, click the "abs" link. To download text of an entry, click the "pdf" link to find a button which will create a .PDF file, readable by Adobe Acrobat Reader. ArXiv is maintained by U.S. National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Energy, and the Los Alamos National Laboratory.
Mathematics Web Sites
Outstanding site on all aspects of mathematics.
Martindale's Calculators Online
Links to over 5,000 calculators for all kinds of purposes. Almost any calculation you might need to make is covered: mortgages, energy savings, flooring, conversions, you name it. For example, under the "Distance & Location" link, you'll find the GREAT CIRCLE CALCULATOR by E. Williams, which computes true course and distance between two points on the earth.
ERAM Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics/Jahrbuch Database
Over 17,000 facsimiles of documents of importance in the history of mathematics. The site is supported by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. There are two parts: A literature database based on the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (1868-1942), and an archive of digitised mathematical publications at the Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen.
Khan Academy: Math
The famous educational site that gives video tutorials for specific concepts.
Pew Research Center site explaining how they process their statistics
Getting Reference Help
- E-mail a Question to Reference
- Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
- Chat reference: Please use the form below
- We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.