Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Databases to Find Articles in Journals
Getting Reference Help
- E-mail a Question to Reference
- Chat reference: Please use the form below
- We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.
Browse these sites, or use the custom search engine below to search these and other history sites.
For example, try searching for Sixties United States.
AMDOCS Documents for the Study of American History
A collection of primary documents organized by time period.
American History on Library of Congress Digital Colections
A large, multimedia meta-collection of historical materials including documents, photographs, recorded sound, and moving pictures. Supported by the Library of Congress.
Historic War Battles
Somewhat miscellaneous set of links on various famous battles; links to some good resources
Lectures on European history.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Texts in the history of Africa, arranged by historical period and subject matter.
Internet History of Science Sourcebook
Texts in the history of science, arranged by historical period and subject matter.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Full-text source material for the study of Islam from the pre-Islam era to modern times. Arranged by historical period and subject.
Picturing the Century
Arranged into "galleries" of memorable photographs from sequential time periods. Click on a thumbnail image to see a larger photo.
This textbook publisher maintains free, full-text hypertext "encyclopedias" : the Medieval World; Encyclopedia of British History, 1700-1900; First World War Encyclopedia; Investigating the Vietnam War; Emancipation Of Women: 1860-1920. Scroll down to see all the offerings.
This Day in History - History Channel
Gives a summary of a historical event for today's date; a link to other events for the same day is available. A pulldown menu allows you to search for events which happened on any day in the year.
Valley of the Shadow
Original diaries, letters, newspapers, and other primary source material for two communities in the Civil War, one Northern, one Southern.
The OWL at Purdue - Chicago Style
Instructions for formatting and citing according to the Chicago Manual of Style
A citation generator. Choose the type of resource you are citing and fill in the blanks. KnightCite will generate a citation in APA, MLA, or Chicago style.