More Author Resources - Author Biographies - How to Find Them - LibraryGuides at Chemeketa Community College

More databases

These databases, although they contain chiefly critical articles, may be helpful.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Click on the Subject Guide Search, then enter the author's name as last name, first name, e.g., Chopin, Kate.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Use the Advanced Search and check off "Articles "under Item Type. Uncheck "Include links to external content" at first to see only available articles.

JSTOR is providing free access to additional collections until June 30, 2023.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central searches for articles in more than forty subject area databases that include Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities content. Click on Databases (4) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within.
How to use

Reference Books - A Sampling

Author Biographies Master Index by Dennis La Beau (Editor)
Call Number: REF 809 Au8
ISBN: 0810310856
Publication Date: 1978
A "consolidated guide to biographical information concerning authors living and dead as it appears in a selection of the principal biographical dictionaries devoted to authors, poets, journalists, and other literary figures"
Cyclopedia of World Authors by Frank N. Magill (Editor); Tracy Irons-Georges (Editor)
Call Number: REF 809 C99 2004
ISBN: 158765122X
Publication Date: 2003
The Companion to African Literatures by Douglas Killam (Editor); Ruth Rowe (Editor); G. D. Killam
Call Number: REF 820.99603 C73
ISBN: 0253336333
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Arabic literature by Julie Scott Meisami; Paul Starkey
Call Number: REF 892.70903 En1
ISBN: 0415185718
Publication Date: 1998
The Oxford Companion to American Literature by James D. Hart; Phillip Leininger (Revised by)
Call Number: REF 810.3 H25 1995
ISBN: 0195065484
Publication Date: 1995
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature by Eugene Benson; William Toye (Editor)
Call Number: REF 809.8971 Ox2
ISBN: 0195411676
Publication Date: 1998
A concise encyclopedia
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by M. C. Howatson
Call Number: REF 880.3 H26
ISBN: 9780199548545
Publication Date: 2011
Revised and updated, concise encyclopedia
The Oxford Companion to English Literature by Margaret Drabble (Editor)
Call Number: REF 820.3 Ox2
ISBN: 0198662440
Publication Date: 2000
Latin American Writers by Carlos A. Solé (Editor); Maria I. Abreu (Editor)
Call Number: REF 860.998 L34
ISBN: 068418463X
Publication Date: 1989
Native American Literatures by Kathy J. Whitson
Call Number: REF 810.9897 W61
ISBN: 0874369320
Publication Date: 1999
Great Foreign Language Writers by James Vinson (Editor); Daniel L. Kirkpatrick (Editor)
Call Number: REF 809 G79
ISBN: 0312345852
Publication Date: 1984
Contemporary Foreign Language Writers by James Vinson (Editor); Daniel L. Kirkpatrick (Editor)
Call Number: REF 809.04 C765
ISBN: 031216663X
Publication Date: 1984-12-01