Nursing Guide: Finding Articles

Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:

• Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walking dead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
• Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
• Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in Primo Library Search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), many newspapers (including The Oregonian), most images, and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search 

You can find articles in the regular library search, but you may want to use one of the databases that allow you more control over your results. Here are indexes that cover nursing journals in Chemeketa's library.

You can do simple keyword searches in CINAHL, but nursing students need to learn how to use CINAHL headings and refinements in order to find articles that meet the requirements for their class assignments. There are tutorials on How to Use CINAHL and MEDLINE.

If you are off campus, you will be asked for your My Chemeketa user name and password.

• E-mail a Question to Reference
• Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
• Chat reference: Please use the form below
• We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.