Skip to main content

Chemeketa Library News

Browse Books for Black History Month

by Kathleen Veldhuisen on 2020-02-04T11:23:00-08:00 | Comments

 

Here is a list of some recent recent books that may interest you:

 
 
Print Book

More Uncelebrated narratives from Black history

Joel Christian Gill, author, artist. Regina N. Bradley, 1984- writer of foreword. 2018
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library Graphic Novels (GRAPHIC NOVELS 973.04 G41m 2018 )
 
Print Book

Race, work, and leadership : new perspectives on the Black experience

edited by Laura Morgan Roberts, Anthony J. Mayo, David A. Thomas. Laura Morgan Roberts, editor. Anthony J. Mayo, editor. David A. Thomas, 1956- editor. 2019
Check holdings
 
Print Book

Parable of the sower

Octavia E. Butler, author. N. K. Jemisin, writer of foreword. 2019
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library Popular Reading (P BUT )
 
Print Book

An American marriage : a novel

Tayari Jones, author. 2018
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (813.6 J72 2018 ) and other locations
 
Print Book

The yellow house

Sarah M. Broom, author. 2019
Check holdings
 
Print Book

Thick : and other essays

Tressie McMillan Cottom, author. 2019
Check holdings
 
Print Book

A past that won't rest : images of the Civil Rights Movement in Mississippi

Jim Lucas, 1944-1980, photographer. Jane Hearn, 1948- editor. Charles L. Overby, writer of foreword. Howard Ball, 1937- contributor. Aram Goudsouzian, contributor. Stanley Nelson, 1955 September 18- contributor. Ellen B. Meacham, contributor. Peter B. Edelman, contributor. Robert E. Luckett, Jr., contributor. 2018
Check holdings
 
Print Book

An American odyssey : the life and work of Romare Bearden

Mary Schmidt Campbell, author. 2018
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (700.92 C15 2018 )
 
Print Book

A haven and a hell : the ghetto in black America

Lance Freeman, author. 2019
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library New Books Shelf (307.3366 F87 2019 )
 
Print Book

Doris Miller, Pearl Harbor, and the birth of the civil rights movement

Thomas W. Cutrer, author. T. Michael Parrish, author. 2018
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (940.545973 C97 )
 
Print Book

We live for the we : the political power of Black motherhood

Dani McClain, author. 2019
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (306.874308 M13 2019 )
 
Print Book

An American summer : love and death in Chicago

Alex Kotlowitz, author. 2019
Chemeketa Yamill Valley Campus Library Page Turners Collection
 
Print Book

What doesn't kill you makes you blacker : a memoir in essays

Damon Young, 1978- author. 2019
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (305.896073 Y8 2019 )
 
Print Book

The road to dawn : Josiah Henson and the story that sparked the Civil War

Jared Brock, author. 2018
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (973.7115092 B78 )
 
Print Book

American prison : a reporter's undercover journey into the business of punishment

Shane Bauer, author. 2018
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (365.973 B32 2018 ) and other locations
 
Print Book

Survival math : notes on an all-American family

Mitchell S. Jackson, author. 2019
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (305.896073 J13 2019 )
 
Print Book

Hattiesburg : an American city in black and white

William Sturkey, author. 2019
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (305.8009762 St9 2019 )
 
Print Book

I can't date Jesus : love, sex, family, race, and other reasons I've put my faith in Beyoncé

Michael Arceneaux, author. 2018
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library Popular Reading (P 306.7622 Ar2 2018 )
 
Print Book

They stole him out of jail : Willie Earle, South Carolina's last lynching victim

William Gravely, 1939- author. 2019
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (364.134 G78 2019 )
 
Print Book

Becoming

Michelle Obama, 1964- author. 2018
Checked out from Chemeketa Salem Campus Library Summit Long Loan (P 973.932092 Ob16 2018 )
 
Print Book

I'm still here : black dignity in a world made for whiteness

Austin Channing Brown, author. 2018
Check holdings
 
Print Book

Frederick Douglass : prophet of freedom

David W. Blight, author. 2018
Chemeketa Yamill Valley Campus Library Page Turners Collection
 
Print Book

The hate u give

Angie Thomas, author. 2018
Checked out from Chemeketa Yamill Valley Campus Library Page Turners Collection
 
Print Book

Occupied territory : policing black Chicago from Red Summer to black power

Simon Balto, author. 2019
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library General Collection (363.209773 B21 2019 )
 
Print Book

The source of self-regard : selected essays, speeches, and meditations

Toni Morrison, author. 2019
Chemeketa Yamill Valley Campus Library Page Turners Collection
 
Print Book

Black leopard, red wolf

Marlon James, 1970- author. 2019
Chemeketa Yamill Valley Campus Library Page Turners Collection and other locations
 
Print Book

Grandma's purse

Vanessa Brantley-Newton, author, illustrator. 2018
Chemeketa Salem Campus Library Children's Collection (C F B73g )

 

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Recent Posts



New Crop of Streaming Video Ready
New offerings from Films on Demand
Browse Books for Black History Month
Some recent books of interest
Artstor's Copyright Checkpoint Helps with Rights Questions
Copyright help for works of art
Medline on PubMed Has New Look
Many new features are included
Public Library (CCRLS Bridge) Requests Delayed
Summit requests are not affected.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...