Find Historical Events & Laws - HS154 - Community Resources & Advocacy - LibraryGuides at Chemeketa Community College

APA Citations

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: REF 808.02 P96 2020
ISBN: 1433832151
Publication Date: 2020
The official guide to the current (7th) format.

Our APA Pages
Guide gives examples of various electronic resources to which Chemeketa subscribes.
What's this DOI Stuff?
Explains what DOI means and how to use it, with what to do when there isn't one.

Where to Find Information on Historical Events & Laws

Most of the topics for the writing assignment are historical. You could look for an appropriate historical encyclopedia, then check the index to find an article. Fortunately there's an easier way. One of our databases, Gale Virtual Reference Library, lets you do one search and find articles from a collection of hundreds of specialized encyclopedias.

Image from Biblioteca General Antonio Machado
used under Creative Commons Attribution License

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference ebooks on a wide variety of topics. Useful for background information and topic exploration.
How to Use
For a complete list of titles, go to Gale Virtual Reference Library and click on "Title List."

Databases for Recent Events

A few topics are too recent or too local to have much information in specialized encyclopedias. You could try to find these in a magazine database:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on current and controversial topics. Includes background information useful for topic exploration. How to Use
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Articles, primary sources, websites, multimedia, and opinions on controversial topics.

Databases for laws and legal questions

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from thousands of magazines, newspapers, and peer-reviewed journals. Includes the New York Times newspaper as far back as 1985.
How to Use

Additional resources for Oregon-related topics:

Oregon.gov
Search by keywords for Oregon laws and ballot measures.
Voters' Pamphlets from Oregon Elections
Includes Voters' Pamphlets from 1904 to the present; contain not only the candidates for office, but the text of ballot measures and statements from groups and individuals in favor of or opposed to the measure.

History Article Databases

Getting Reference Help

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.

Librarian

Kathleen Veldhuisen

HS154 - Community Resources & Advocacy: Find Historical Events & Laws

APA Citations

Where to Find Information on Historical Events & Laws

History Article Databases

Getting Reference Help

Librarian