Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:
Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walkingdead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in the library search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), some of LexisNexis Academic, and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search
PowerSearch is not a database. It is a tool that searches many databases at the same time. It does not search in all library databases.
JSTOR is a digital archive of journal content. Chemeketa has the archive collections Arts & Sciences I and Arts & Sciences III, comprising about 400 journals. The collections are strong in the humanities.
Full-text critical essays and reviews, biographies of authors; overviews of frequently studied works; full-text poems, short stories and plays; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature; and more. How To Use
ProQuest Central searches for articles in more than forty subject area databases that include Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities content. Click on Databases (2) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within.
Databases for Finding Articles on Controversial Topics
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a Gale database that provides background information and viewpoint articles on controversial issues. Also has topic overviews, court case overviews, organization profiles, and statistics.