Skip to main content
Finding information about a specific locality is often much harder than finding global or national information. Sometimes there isn't someone collecting and organizing a particular kind of information at the local level. You must find what local information you can, and cautiously extend more general information to your specific case.
For example, if you're looking for information about a city government's policy about on-street parking, you might go to the city's web site and find the parking ordinances, planning information, and perhaps city council minutes. Then you might search in periodical indexes and technical report servers and apply some information about policies that had worked in other places to your local case.
Some Oregon Sources
Chemeketa does not have the Oregonian or Statesman Journal in electronic form. Salem Public Library does have these databases, however. The web sites of the newspapers are searchable, but do not give free full text.
Historic Oregon Newspapers
Historic Oregon Newspapers contains full text newspapers from Oregon's pas that were collected and digitized by the University of Oregon. Most are pre-1923; a limited number of post-1923 titles are available
An authoritative site from the Oregon Historical Society, covering both historical and present-day topics
Oregon History Project
An Oregon Historical Society site with historical and biographical information about the state of Oregon
Oregon Historic Photograph Collections
Includes photos from many sources, including including the Ben Maxwell estate, the Statesman Journal, Oregon State Archives, Marion County Historical Society, the Asahel Bush family, and other contributors
The Oregon Index
Index to older issues of eight Oregon newspapers including The Statesman Journal (1987 - 2003). Not full text; citations only.
Voters' Pamphlets from Oregon Elections
Includes Voters' Pamphlets from 1904 to the present; contain not only the candidates for office, but the text of ballot measures and statements from groups and individuals in favor of or opposed to the measure.
USA.gov includes state and city web servers as well as federal, so you can try putting in your topic with the name of the place
The official State of Oregon site.
State & Local Government on the Net
This search can connect you to city and county government sites. Choose Local Government and pick your state.
U.S. Newspapers Via LexisNexis Academic
Please Note: LexisNexis will no longer be available after June 2018. LexisNexis has hundreds of newspapers. Use this search or click the Find link in the Source Directory box to search for a paper from a specific place.
Full text access to articles published in Salem, Oregon's local newspaper from 1999 through present.
Indexing to The Oregonian (Portland) morning edition newspaper since July 1, 1989. This database does not include full text.
Chemeketa Community College Library | library.chemeketa.edu | 503.399.5231 | E-mail Reference Librarians