Skip to main content
ScienceDirect now includes both the Health & Life Sciences and the Social & Behavioral Sciences collections. These collections offer access to full text of almost 2,000 journals relating to life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences broadly interpreted, including environmental science, agriculture, genetics, psychology, economics, human/computer interaction, and communication. Tip: On the Expert Search page check the boxes next to "Subscribed publications" & "Open access articles."
When Should I Use a Database?
Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:
- Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walking dead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
- Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
- Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in the library search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), some of LexisNexis Academic, and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search
Choose Databases by Subject
Choose a Database
The list of subscribed databases lets you filter your results by subject. Choose Articles under Database Type to display only those that have journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Supplementary databases cover a wide variety of subjects. Some have full text. May include technical reports
PowerSearch is not a database. It is a tool that searches many databases at the same time. It does not search in all library databases.
Chemeketa Community College Library | library.chemeketa.edu | 503.399.5231 | E-mail Reference Librarians